Com Defeito de Fabricacao (Fabrication Defect) [BMG]

Com Defeito de Fabricacao (Fabrication Defect) [BMG]

by Tom Zé


$14.86 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.86, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Com Defeito de Fabricacao (Fabrication Defect) [BMG]

"Com Defeito de Fabricação," released in 1998, was the definite return of Tom Zé to the limelight. The lyrics of many tracks are, as usual, quite political and the moods and styles vary much between the 16 tracks. "Curiosidade" is a very fine pop song spiced up by a nervous cavaquinho, while "Valsar" is a gentle, melancholic valse. Arnaldo Antunes appears on the forro-inspired and accordion-based "Xique-xique," while the interesting "O Olho do Lago" is dominated by percussion. Zé, the mad genius of the Tropicalia generation, has one of his typical moments of flamboyant creativity on "Xique-xique" when he uses a piece of plastic as an instrument by rubbing it against his mouth, and thus creating an odd but enjoyable sound effect. A few tracks, however, are a bit weak and that, combined with an at times less than impressive production (making some tracks sound more 1990 than 1998), drags down the overall impression of an otherwise very good album.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/22/2005
Label: Luaka Bop
UPC: 0680899003322
catalogNumber: 90033
Rank: 148367

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tom Zé   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Balloon
David Byrne   Guitar
Gilberto Assis   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Fiddle,Mandolin,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Baixo,Rabeca
Jimmy Daniel   Drums,Bata,Tamborim
Lauro Lellis   Drums
Jarbas Mariz   Bass,Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Bottle
Marcos Suzano   Percussion
Bryan Martin   Bass,Background Vocals,Wurlitzer
John Ragusa   Flute
Andre Abujamra   Vocals
Arnaldo Antunes   Vocals
Vicente Barreto   Acoustic Guitar
Toninho Ferragutti   Accordion
Ná Ozzetti   Vocals
Michael Sauri   Guitar
Cristina Carneiro   Keyboards,Vocals,Bottle
Siba   Rabeca
Paulo Tatit   Vocals,Pilas
Dino Barioni   Guitar
Luanda   Vocals
Marcos Di Santis   Trombone
Marco Prado   Bongos,10-string Guitar
Nilza Maria   Vocals

Technical Credits

Tom Zé   Arranger
Gilberto Assis   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Bryan Martin   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Neto   Contributor
Kiko Campos   Composer
Moacyr Albuquerque   Composer
Andre Abujamra   Producer
Adoniran Barbosa   Composer
Vicente Barreto   Composer
Alex Ladd   translation
Ale Siqueira   Arranger
José Miguel Wisnik   Producer
Chris Capuozzo   Art Direction,Illustrations
Paulo Tatit   Arranger

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews