Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing: American Folk Hymns & Spirituals

Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing: American Folk Hymns & Spirituals

by Mormon Tabernacle ChoirMormon Tabernacle Choir


$19.44 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.44, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The concept of the folk hymn may sound like an anachronism, but there were countless lay composers who gradually shaped the hymn books for different branches of the Christian faith, far beyond the work of the accepted giants of hymnody (from Charles Wesley to Martin Luther). The Mormon Tabernacle Choir salutes that great tradition with Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing: American Folk Hymns & Spirituals, a collection of 17 performances, most of which date back to the first half of the 19th century and have either traditional lyrics or musical basis in folk tunes (or both). Accompanied by the Orchestra at Temple Square, the choir reprises spirituals ("I Want Jesus to Walk with Me," "The Battle of Jericho," "Down to the River to Pray") as well as Southern harmony classics ("His Voice as the Sound," "My God, My Portion and My Love") and standard folk hymns ("Amazing Grace," "We'll Shout and Give Him Glory"). The set is anchored by the title song, which the Mormon Tabernacle Choir itself made increasingly popular ever since a mid-'90s arrangement by its musical director and conductor, Mack Wilberg, who's responsible for the majority of the arrangements here.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2009
Label: Mormon Tabernacle
UPC: 0783027012620
catalogNumber: 5014332
Rank: 1234

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mormon Tabernacle Choir   Primary Artist,Choir, Chorus
Daron Bradford   Recorder
Clay Christiansen   Organ
Christopher Hancock   Soloist
Richard Elliott   Organ
Alex Boyé   Vocals,Soloist
Jeannine Goeckeritz   Flute
Peggy Caan   Vocals
Andrew Unsworth   Organ
Cheri Hancock   Vocals
Wasatch & District Pipe Band   Bagpipes
Mack Wilberg   Conductor

Technical Credits

Bruce Leek   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
John Newton   Composer,Text
Fred Vogler   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Isaac Watts   Composer,Text
Moses Hogan   Arranger
Trent Walker   Engineer
Samuel Stennett   Composer,Text
Bob Ahlander   Publishing Coordinator
Mac Christensen   Choir President
Will L. Thompson   Composer,Text
Scott Barrick   Liner Notes
Alex Richards   Stage Manager
Ed Thompson & the Rovin' Ramblers   Producer
Barry Anderson   Administrative Coordinator
Bennett Peterson   Legal Advisor
Heidi Casson   Stage Manager
Hailey Walker   Legal Advisor
Julie Rohde   Liner Notes
Robert Robinson   Composer,Text
Benjamin Harlan   Adaptation
S.B. Sawyer   Text
Howard A. Roberts   Arranger,Adaptation
Berne Broadbent   Legal Advisor
Bob Breitenbeker   Stage Manager
Lt. Chad Steffey   Producer,Audio Production
Reverend S.B. Sawyer   Composer
Joseph Swain   Composer,Text Adaptation
Howard A. Roberts   Arranger
Ed Thompson   Producer,Audio Production
Mack Wilberg   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production,Music Direction
Alex Morris   Stage Manager
Luke Howard   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews