Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.
For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.
Get it by Wednesday, January 24
, Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
Same Day delivery in Manhattan. Details
The Chicago White Sox opened Comiskey Park on July 1, 1910. Their owner, Charles Comiskey, wanted a new, modern, park made of steel and concrete to replace the old South Side Park. Comiskey Park was the home of the White Sox for the next 80 years, and over 72 million fans saw games there. This book recounts the history of the storied ballpark and the great events and ballplayers that made it famous. The Sox won all three World Series games played at Comiskey in 1917, the year of their only championship. It was followed two years later by the infamous Black Sox Scandal. In 1960, then owner Bill Veeck, one of the great innovators in the game's history, installed the first exploding scoreboard in center field. Starting in 1969, Comiskey had a unique playing field for several years; artificial turf on the infield, and natural grass in the outfield. Comiskey Park last hosted the World Series in 1959, when the Los Angeles Dodgers beat the Sox four games to two. All-star players and fan favorites always made a trip to Comiskey worthwhile, and the Sox have fielded their share of Hall-of-Famers through the years, including Luke Appling, Nellie Fox, Eddie Collins, Luis Aparicio, and Carlton Fisk.
About the Author
Irwin J. Cohen is a baseball historian and member of the Society for American Baseball Research. He has assembled a wonderful collection of images from old Comiskey Park, many seen here for the first time. His last book for Arcadia Publishing was Tiger Stadium.