Common Ground: Voices Of Modern Irish Music

Common Ground: Voices Of Modern Irish Music

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Common Ground: Voices Of Modern Irish Music

Assembled by producer Donal Lunny, the loose concept of this compilation was to gather over a dozen Celtic and rock musicians with Irish ancestry to perform Irish traditional music, or original compositions with an Irish traditional flavor. Celtic music fans probably won't be that impressed by the mix of folk and pop tracks; it's kind of an outreach project, designed to broaden the appeal of Irish music without neglecting its truest progenitors. Both folk and rock fans with specialized tastes, however, may appreciate the chance to hear the cuts by Maire Brennan, Paul Brady, Andy Irvine, Christy Moore, and (from the pop world) Elvis Costello, Kate Bush (singing in Gaelic), Sinead O'Connor, Bono & Adam Clayton, and Tim & Neil Finn, none of which are available elsewhere.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/1996
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724383769124
catalogNumber: 37691

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Andy Irvine   Bouzouki,Vocals,Track Performer
Dónal Lunny   Bouzouki,Guitar,Harmonium,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Track Performer,Bodhran,Electric Bouzouki
Christy Moore   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
David Hayes   Keyboards
Paul Brady   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Human Whistle,12-string Guitar,Track Performer
Kate Bush   Track Performer
Elvis Costello   Vocals,Track Performer
Tim Finn   Vocals,Track Performer
Brian Kennedy   Vocals,Track Performer
Rita Connolly   Background Vocals
Sharon Shannon   Track Performer,Button Accordion
Bono   Vocals,Track Performer
Richie Buckley   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Nollaig Casey   Fiddle,Violin,Viola
Adam Clayton   Bass,Track Performer
Noel Eccles   Percussion
Neil Finn   Piano,Ukulele,Vocals,Track Performer
Máirtín O'Connor   Button Accordion
Sinéad O'Connor   Track Performer
Liam Ó Maonlaí   Vocals,Didjeridu,Track Performer,Bodhran
Eoghan O'Neill   Bass,Bass Guitar
Davy Spillane   Track Performer,uillean pipes,Low Whistle
Fiachra Trench   Conductor
Brendan Power   Harmonica
Andy White   Background Vocals
Bridin Brennan   Background Vocals
Ray Fean   Drums
Adrian Dunbar   Background Vocals
Barney McKenna   Banjo
Laoise Kelly   Irish Harp
Moya Brennan   Vocals,Track Performer
Mike Cortese   Drums

Technical Credits

Andy Irvine   Arranger,Composer
Dónal Lunny   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Contributor
Christy Moore   Arranger
David Hayes   Arranger
Paul Brady   Arranger
Kate Bush   Arranger,Contributor
Elvis Costello   Arranger
Tim Finn   Arranger
Brian Kennedy   Arranger
Bono   Arranger
Adam Clayton   Arranger
Neil Finn   Arranger
Tim Martin   Engineer
Brian Masterson   Engineer
Sinéad O'Connor   Arranger,Contributor
Liam Ó Maonlaí   Arranger
Eoghan O'Neill   Arranger
Del Palmer   Engineer
Davy Spillane   Arranger,Composer
Fiachra Trench   Arranger,String Arrangements
Gerald Seligman   Executive Producer
Andy White   Arranger
Ray Fean   Arranger
Pete Lewis   Engineer
Stephen Daley   Programming,beats
Ed Dibona   Producer,Engineer
Oisin Lunny   Programming,beats
Abrahams Pants   Cover Design
Shawn Parks   Artwork,Illustrations
Traditional   Composer
Julie Gardiner   Engineer
Moya Brennan   Arranger
Fainne Geal On Lae   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews