Complete Beethoven Edition, Vol. 11: The Early Quartets (3 CD)

Complete Beethoven Edition, Vol. 11: The Early Quartets (3 CD)

by Mendelssohn String Quartet


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Complete Beethoven Edition, Vol. 11: The Early Quartets (3 CD)

Not only does this volume of Deutsche Grammophon's 1997 Beethoven edition contain what are arguably the best recordings of Beethoven's early string quartets ever made, it contains what are arguably the best recordings of all Beethoven's early works for string quartets. That is, this volume includes the Amadeus Quartet's 1961 recordings of the Op. 18, the lyrical, dramatic, and sometimes even epic set of six quartets Beethoven composed in his late twenties in the freshest, most natural, and most noble set of recordings of them ever made. But the set also includes the Amadeus' lovely 1969 recording of Beethoven's transcription of his "Piano Sonata," Op. 14/1, the Hagen Quartett's brilliant 1997 recording of Beethoven's original version of the first of the Op. 18 quartets, the Hagen's superb 1997 recording of Beethoven's sublimely simple "Menuett for string quartet," and even the Mendelssohn Quartet's 1996 recording of the two perfectly acceptable "Prelude and Fugues for string quartet" that Beethoven wrote as composition exercises. DG's remastered sound is so good that you can hardly tell the difference between the 1961 and the 1997 recordings.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/1997
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028945376028
catalogNumber: 453760


  1. String Quartet No. 1 in F major, Op. 18/1
  2. String Quartet No. 2 in G major ("Compliments"), Op. 18/2
  3. String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 18/3
  4. String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, Op. 18/4
  5. String Quartet No. 5 in A major, Op. 18/5
  6. String Quartet No. 6 in B flat major, Op. 18/6
  7. String Quartet in F major (arrangement of Piano Sonata No. 9 in E major, Op. 14/1), Hess 34
  8. Prelude and Fugue at the octave, for string quartet, in F major, Hess 30
  9. Prelude and Fugue at the tenth, for string quartet, in C major, Hess 31
  10. String Quartet in F major, Hess 32
  11. Minuet for string quartet in A flat major, Hess 33
  12. Fugue for string quartet in B flat major (arr. from Handel's Solomon Overture), Hess 36

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews