The Complete John Silence Stories

The Complete John Silence Stories

by Algernon Blackwood


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


One of the former British writers of supernatural tales in the twentieth century, Algernon Blackwood (1869–1951) wrote stories in which the slow accumulation of telling details produced a foreboding atmosphere of almost unendurable tension. Blackwood's literary renown began in 1908 with the publication of a highly successful collection of stories, John Silence — Physician Extraordinary, featuring a "psychic doctor."
This volume contains all five of the John Silence stories from the 1908 edition plus one additional tale. Edited and with an informative introduction by S. T. Joshi, noted occult fiction authority, the stories include "A Psychical Invasion," in which Silence is summoned to a house apparently haunted by former tenants. In "Ancient Sorceries," he encounters a man who tells of strange experiences in a small French town; and in "Secret Worship," an ill-starred character is rescued from spiritual and perhaps physical death. "The Nemesis of Fire," "The Camp of the God," and "A Victim of Higher Space" conclude this collection of spellbinding tales, which will delight any devotee of "weird" literature.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780486299426
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication date: 11/02/2011
Series: Dover Horror Classics Series
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 550,444
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.58(d)

About the Author

Algernon Blackwood (1869-1951) maintained a lifelong fascination with the occult and spiritualism. In addition to writing 10 books of short stories and 14 novels, he served as a British secret agent during World War I and received a knighthood in 1949.

Table of Contents

Case I: A Psychical Invasion
Case II: Ancient Sorceries
Case III; The Nemesis of Fire
Case IV: Secret Worship
Case V: The Camp of the Dog
Case VI: A Victim of Higher Space

Customer Reviews