Complete Shorter Works for Solo Piano

Complete Shorter Works for Solo Piano

by Johannes Brahms

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99 $15.95 Save 25% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $15.95. You Save 25%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The entire corpus of Brahms's short piano pieces is contained in this volume: the delightful and familiar Waltzes; the effective Scherzo in E-flat Minor; the satisfying Eight Pieces; the two Rhapsodies; the Fantasies — among the most perfectly finished works Brahms ever wrote — the three Intermezzi; the Intermezzi, Ballade, and Romance comprising Six Pieces; and the superlative Intermezzi and Rhapsody that make up the final Four Pieces.
The music is reproduced directly from the definitive Vienna Gesellschaft der Musik-freunde edition, edited by its renowned musicologist, Eusebius Mandyczewski, who made his revisions from original sources, often Brahms's own manuscripts. For this Dover edition, the Editor's Preface (Revisionsbericht) and the Table of Contents have been translated into English.
Noteheads have been reproduced in a size large enough to be read easily at the keyboard. Margins and spaces between staves are generous, permitting insertion of written notes, analysis, fingertips, running measure numbers, etc. This edition will be welcomed, not only by the classical pianist, but by all who will find it highly practical and convenient for instruction, study, reference, enjoyment, and virtually any other purpose.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780486311524
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication date: 10/01/2013
Series: Dover Music for Piano
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 180
File size: 29 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

German composer Johannes Brahms (1833–97) was a leading musician of the Romantic period and a virtuoso pianist who premiered many of his own works. He wrote for piano, chamber ensembles, symphony orchestra, solo voice, and chorus.

Table of Contents

Editor's Preface (Revisionsbericht)
"Scherzo, E-flat Minor, Op. 4"
"Ballades, Op. 10"
1. "Edward," D Minor"
2. "Andante, D Major"
3. "Intermezzo, Allegro, B Minor"
4. "Andante con moto, B Major"
"Waltzes, Op. 39"
Simplified Edition
"Eight Pieces (Klavierstücke), Op. 76"
1. "Capriccio, F-sharp Minor"
2. "Capriccio, B Minor"
3. "Intermezzo, A-flat Major"
4. "Intermezzo, B-flat Major"
5. "Capriccio, C-sharp Minor"
6. "Intermezzo, A Major"
7. "Intermezzo, A Minor"
8. "Capriccio, C Major"
"Two Rhapsodies, Op. 79"
1. "Agitato, B Minor"
2. "Molto passionato, G Minor"
"Fantasies, Op. 116"
1. "Capriccio, D Minor"
2. "Intermezzo, A Minor"
3. "Capriccio, G Minor"
4. "Intermezzo, E Major"
5. "Intermezzo, E Minor"
6. "Intermezzo, E Major"
7. "Capriccio, D Minor"
"Three Intermezzi, Op. 117"
1. "Andante moderato, E-flat Major"
2. "Andante non troppo, B-flat Minor"
3. "Andante con moto, C-sharp Minor"
"Six Pieces (Klavierstücke), Op. 118"
1. "Intermezzo, A Minor"
2. "Intermezzo, A Major"
3. "Ballade, G Minor"
4. "Intermezzo, F Minor"
5. "Romance, F Major"
6. "Intermezzo, E-flat Minor"
"Four Pieces (Klavierstücke), Op. 119"
1. "Intermezzo, B Minor"
2. "Intermezzo, E Minor"
3. "Intermezzo, C Major"
4. "Rhapsody, E-flat Major"

Customer Reviews