Composed: A Memoir

Composed: A Memoir

by Rosanne Cash
3.7 20

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Composed: A Memoir by Rosanne Cash

A candid and moving memoir from the critically acclaimed singer and songwriter
For thirty years as a musician, Rosanne Cash has enjoyed both critical and commercial success, releasing a series of albums that are as notable for their lyrical intelligence as for their musical excellence.

Now, in her memoir, Cash writes compellingly about her upbringing in Southern California as the child of country legend Johnny Cash, and of her relationships with her mother and her famous stepmother, June Carter Cash. In her account of her development as an artist she shares memories of a hilarious stint as a twenty-year-old working for Columbia Records in London, recording her own first album on a German label, working her way to success, her marriage to Rodney Crowell, a union that made them Nashville's premier couple, her relationship with the country music establishment, taking a new direction in her music and leaving Nashville to move to New York. As well as motherhood, dealing with the deaths of her parents, in part through music, the process of songwriting, and the fulfillment she has found with her current husband and musical collaborator, John Leventhal.

Cash has written an unconventional and compelling memoir that, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher's The Gastronomical Me and Frank Conroy's Stop-Time, is a series of linked pieces that combine to form a luminous and brilliant whole.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101457696
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/10/2010
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 1,223,114
File size: 512 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

ROSANNE CASH has recorded fourteen albums charting twenty-one Top 40 country singles, 11 of which made it to # 1, and two gold records. She has received ten Grammy nominations—winning in 1985—and was nominated this year for “Sea of Heartbreak,” a duet with Bruce Springsteen on her current CD, The List. Cash achieved the highest chart position of her career with the debut of The List. The album, which Vanity Fair called “superb,” debuted in the Top 5 on the Country Chart, and entered The Billboard 200 at No. 22. Cash is the author of Bodies of Water and the children’s book Penelope Jane: A Fairy’s Tale. Her essays and fiction have been published in The New York Times, Rolling Stone, and New York magazine. She lives in New York City with her husband and children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Composed 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
1945-Bookworm More than 1 year ago
Overall, I liked the book. She is a very gifted & perceptive writer. Parts of book on recording and the music industry I did not understand. The parts about her upbringing and interaction with her father (Johnny Cash) and Step-Mom (Roseanne Carter Cash) were very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good supplemental read. You probably should read something about her Dads career first (?) Maybe a understanding of the music business (?) She doesn't dwell deeply on herself, but doesn't shy away from putting it all out there either. If you're a fan of her music, a fan of her Dads music, maybe trying to put the pieces together of a famous family and dealing with stardom - this helps.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read one of her father's memoirs and was eager to read hers. I'm glad I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago