Pub. Date:
Composition in the Digital World: Conversations with 21st Century American Composers

Composition in the Digital World: Conversations with 21st Century American Composers

by Robert Raines

NOOK Book(eBook)

$37.49 $49.99 Save 25% Current price is $37.49, Original price is $49.99. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


American composers are at the forefront of a renaissance in concert music, in the process expanding the very definition of the category. The impact of digital technology on the creative process and the unprecedented diversity of contemporary composers are arguably among the catalysts driving the rebirth. In this series of personal interviews with some of the most prominent composers of art music currently working on the American music scene, composer and educator Robert Raines leads the intimate conversations through subjects ranging from the source of inspiration to work habits, the realities of the business of music, and the impact of technology on music and life in the 21st century. The musicians who participated in these conversations are as different from one another as might be imagined, both in styles of music and approaches to life and art, resulting in a series of stories that offer a kaleidoscopic view of the many paths to creativity, yet a common thread that runs through the interviews is the passionate artistic drive that is shared by all. The inspirational stories of struggles and successes, told in the artists' own words and distinctively framed by their individual personalities - humorous, curmudgeonly, serious, serene, and playful by turns - is a delightful and thought-provoking journey full of personal insights, advice, and sharp observations on composing music in a changing, technology-driven world. A loving homage to the artistic spirit, this book is a must-read for students of composition, professors and scholars of music, composers and aspiring composers, and anyone interested in the subjective process of writing music. This rich and entertaining collection provides a unique glimpse into the workings of the creative spirit in the digital age.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780199357055
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 02/02/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

As a composer, musician, educator, and creative director, Robert's career has spanned both music and visual arts, creating award- winning work in both fields. Raised in New York City's Greenwich Village by parents who were active in the arts, he was immersed in music, theater, literature, and the visual arts from an early age. His experience includes working for a number of years as a guitarist and composer in New York City, producing as well as performing on many recordings of jazz, blues, and popular music. He now composes full time and has written for theater and film in addition to concert music.

Table of Contents

Foreword Introduction Ellen Taaffe Zwilich Steve Reich Christopher Rouse Martin Bresnick Joan Tower William Averitt Michael Torke Libby Larsen Aaron J. Kernis Jennifer Higdon John Anthony Lennon David T. Little Kevin Puts Michael Daugherty Mohammed Fairouz Tania León Bright Sheng Ladislav Kubík Chen Yi Jose Bevia Daniel Wohl Eve Beglarian Glen Branca Marcus Roberts Luke DuBois Greg Wilder Pamela Z Eric Whitacre About Robert Raines Index

Customer Reviews