Pub. Date:
McGraw-Hill Higher Education
Computing Essentials 2011 Introductory Edition / Edition 21

Computing Essentials 2011 Introductory Edition / Edition 21

by Timothy O'Leary, Linda I. O'Leary


Current price is , Original price is $156.33. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780077331399
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Higher Education
Publication date: 03/23/2010
Edition description: Older Edition
Pages: 416
Product dimensions: 8.40(w) x 10.70(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Tim and Linda O’Leary live in the American Southwest and spend much of their time engaging instructors and students in conversation about learning. In fact, they have been talking about learning for over 25 years. Something in those early conversations convinced them to write a book, to bring their interest in the learning process to the printed page. Today, they are as concerned as ever about learning, about technology, and about the challenges of presenting material in new ways, in terms of both content and method of delivery.

A powerful and creative team, Tim combines his 30 years of classroom teaching experience with Linda’s background as a consultant and corporate trainer. Tim has taught courses at Stark Technical College in Canton, Ohio, and at Rochester Institute of Technology in upstate New York, and is currently a professor emeritus at Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona. Linda offered her expertise at ASU for several years as an academic advisor. She also presented and developed materials for major corporations such as Motorola, Intel, Honeywell, and AT&T, as well as various community colleges in the Phoenix area.

Tim and Linda have talked to and taught numerous students, all of them with a desire to learn something about computers and applications that make their lives easier, more interesting, and more productive.

Table of Contents

O'Leary, Computing Essentials 2011, Introductory Edition
1. Information Technology, the Internet, and You
2. The Internet, the Web, and Electronic Commerce
3. Basic Application Software
4. Specialized Application Software
5. System Software
6. The System Unit
7. Input and Output
8. Secondary Storage
9. Communications and Networks
10. Privacy and Security
11. Your Future and Information Technology
The Evolution of the Computer age
The Buyer's Guide: How to Buy Your Own Microcomputer System
The Upgrader's Guide: How to Upgrade Your Microcomputer System

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews