Pub. Date:
Coney Island

Coney Island

by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana BrassHerb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


Encouraged by his comeback album, Herb Alpert assembled a new version of the TJB -- including a hotshot second trumpeter, Bob Findley, and jazz piano whiz Dave Frishberg -- and hit the studio and road in 1975. Yet Coney Island was a brave, nearly complete departure from the old Tijuana Brass, where the jazzers were given carte blanche and the rhythm section encouraged to do more complex things. As a signal of independence, the new Brass tackle Chick Corea's "Senor Mouse" head-on, where Frishberg runs wild and even longtime marimbist Julius Wechter is affected by the adventurous spirit. Alpert's own playing on trumpet (and now flugelhorn and piano) is a bit freer as well, and he goes out on a limb as a composer with the experimental, not-quite-coherent "Carmine." TJB tradition is also served by a loose, swinging version of "I Have Dreamed," and an older legacy pops up in the Alpert/Frishberg duet on Jelly Roll Morton's "The Crave." But this edition of the Brass was short-lived; the public didn't get it and Alpert soon moved on to solo projects, leaving this sole LP as its legacy.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Herb Alpert Presents
UPC: 0814647020679
catalogNumber: 702067
Rank: 30208


  1. Coney Island
  2. I Have Dreamed
  3. Señor Mouse
  4. Mickey (C'est Ainsi Que Les Choses Arrivent)
  5. Sweet Georgia Brown
  6. Ratatouille (Rata Too Ee)
  7. Catfish
  8. This Masquerade
  9. Carmine
  10. The Crave
  11. Vento Bravo
  12. I Belong

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass   Primary Artist
Herb Alpert   Piano,Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Vocals
Julius Wechter   Percussion,Marimbas
Vince Charles   Percussion,Steel Drums
Bob Edmondson   Bass,Trombone,Soloist
Bob Findley   Trumpet
Papito Hernandez   Bass
Peter Woodford   Guitar
Jimmy Haskell   Strings
Steven Schaeffer   Drums
Dave Fishberg   Piano

Technical Credits

Edú Lobo   Composer
Herb Alpert   Arranger,Composer,Orchestration
Leon Russell   Composer
Jelly Roll Morton   Composer
Moacir Santos   Composer
Julius Wechter   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Peter Matz   Orchestration
Ben Bernie   Composer
Michel Colombier   Composer
Armando Anthony Corea   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Bob Findley   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Clovis Mello   Composer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Kenneth Casey   Composer
Brian Porizek   Cover Art
Goran Fristorp   Composer
Dave Fishberg   Arranger

Customer Reviews