Connect the Dots

Connect the Dots

by MisterWives


$10.12 $10.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $10.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15


MisterWives' sophomore effort is a buoyant, groove-heavy affair that builds upon the joyous '80s-influenced indie pop sound from their 2015 debut. A tight 11 tracks long, Connect the Dots is so infectiously charming it could border on the precious, but the New York-based sextet are so committed and exuberant that it's difficult not to get swept up by their youthful energy. On the defiant Sia-meets-No Doubt dancehall opener "Machine," MisterWives pile horns, driving drums, and elastic bass over empowering lyrics like "We're not part of your machine!" before sidling up next to like-minded contemporaries Paramore on the sunny "Chasing This." Highlights abound on Connect the Dots. "Only Human" features one of their strongest melodic hooks, while the anthemic, crowd-ready "Revolution" rallies listeners with cries of "Let's start a revolution/Where we all stand as one" in a noble attempt to tackle larger social issues. The rollicking "Out of Tune Piano" stomps with Regina Spektor-like mirth, while "Oh Love" flexes its rock muscle with heavy vocal distortion and jagged riffs. Standing high above it all, closer "Let the Light In" is the album's standout. The hard-hitting new wave epic is pure Eurythmics, right down to vocalist Mandy Lee's Annie Lennox harmonics. While the rest of Connect the Dots is a solid step forward for the group, this track is the most exciting hint at their potential. Defeating the specter of the sophomore slump with confidence and a smile, MisterWives infuse their colorful sonic spectrum with enough new ideas to evolve and mature with grace. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2017
Label: Photo Finish
UPC: 0602557431056
catalogNumber: 002639302
Rank: 76054

Album Credits

Performance Credits

MisterWives   Primary Artist
Butch Walker   Synthesizer,Background Vocals
Michael Murphy   Acoustic Guitar,Saxophone,Background Vocals,Group Member
Mandy Lee   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Jesse Blum   Piano,Trumpet,Accordion,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Group Member
Etienne Bowler   Drums,Background Vocals,Group Member
William Hehir   Bass,Background Vocals,Group Member
Marc Campbell   Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Butch Walker   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Joe Spix   Art Direction
Mandy Lee   Composer
Jonathan Pardo   Management
Todd Stopera   Engineer
Etienne Bowler   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Matt Burnette-Lemon   Package Production
Marc Campbell   Composer
Jared Glick   Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews