The Conspiracy

The Conspiracy

by Kat Martin

Hardcover(Original)

$19.80 $24.99 Save 21% Current price is $19.8, Original price is $24.99. You Save 21%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781335541895
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication date: 01/22/2019
Series: Maximum Security , #1
Edition description: Original
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 43,688
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

Kat Martin is the New York Times bestselling author of more than fifty historical and contemporary romance novels. To date she has over 13 million copies of her books in print in seventeen countries, including Sweden, France, Russia, Spain, Japan, Argentina, Poland, and Greece. Kat and her husband, author Larry Jay Martin, live on their ranch outside Missoula, Montana, and spend winters at their beach house in California. Kat invites you to visit her website at www.KatMartin.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Conspiracy 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Evampire9 9 hours ago
Thrilling suspense and danger holds readers hostage while the emotions grips readers by the heart. Harper’s brother is missing and her only hope is the man who used to be his best friend. Trusting his gut, Chase suspects that there is more to Michael’s disappearance than what meets the eye. Chase and Harper’s chemistry sizzles with electricity and the attraction between is undeniable but this couple has some emotional issues that has to be overcome as well as family issues that need to be resolved which keeps the relationship on a razor’s edge throughout. Readers hold their breath in anticipation of the outcome even as the couple fight their attraction. The plot is fast paced and flows smoothly throughout with lots of adrenaline pumping suspense and dangerous events that keep readers on the edge of their seat as Michael is forced to put everything on the line to keep Harper safe. Surprising twists ensures that readers are kept guessing right along with the characters. The author has created another wonderfully, thrilling and suspenseful story with strong, imagination catching characters in a setting that demands readers come back for more and once again I was completely caught up in her world until the very end.
Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks 11 hours ago
Kat Martin's Maximum Security series is off to a wonderful, action-packed beginning! When I picked up this story I had no idea I would be following a heroine as she braves Colombian jungles in the hopes she could rescue her big brother. The Conspiracy is a fast paced romantic suspense that fully engages you and keeps you on your toes. When she can't get in touch with her brother while he's on vacation in the Caribbean, Harper Winston turns to the one man she knows will help her. With a family history of law enforcement and military service Chase Garrett doesn't want anything to do with the Winstons because of their father's criminal activities. However, for the sake of his former friendship with Michael he agrees to help Harper. The story doesn't begin and end with the extraction of Harper's brother from Colombia. Once back home Harper contends with the DEA going after her father and an invisible player gunning for her life. Her relationship with Chase is hot and cold which draws their romance out and really makes you wonder where they'll end up. Time after time, Harper proves that she can handle whatever is thrown her way. She also proves to be my favorite kind of heroine: strong, independent, and caring. I love the layers that create this story because you don't know how things connect until they do. With a few twists and turns to keep readers invested in the story The Conspiracy exceeds expectations. I highly recommend for fans of Christina Dodd's Cape Charade series, and Marissa Garner. *ARC provided in consideration for review*
CathyGeha 15 hours ago
The Conspiracy by Kat Martin Maximum Security #1 Great introduction to what will no doubt be a wonderful suspense packed romantic thrill ride provided book by book. In book one we meet the Garrett brothers, find out a bit about them and what they do, learn about Maximum Security (one of the businesses of the Garrett brothers) and are introduced to a number of people that may show up in future books of the series. That said...THIS book is about Chase Garrett and Harper Winston. Harper’s brother Michael has not checked in for a long enough time that she is worried and the person she feels most likely to help her find him is Garrett. So, she approaches him and in the first portion of the book the two head off together to follow the trail and try to find out what is what. This section is filled with suspense and action and seems to conclude only to have a twist appear that leads the story on to another story line that is still related to the reason Michael disappeared in the first place. Back in the USA again the story continues with Harper in danger and potential romance happening between Harper and Chase although the two do have some questions about whether or not they should pursue a relationship. And...I don’t want to give anything away so will say there was some yes-no-maybe going on but both really do like one another so it is more than likely they will get their HEA. In addition to the main thread of this story there are a few Maximum Security jobs undertaken that give an idea of what types of stories might occur in future books of the series. Maximum Security provides body guards, does private investigative work, seeks the lost and runaways, coordinates with police and other law enforcement bodies, does bail bond enforcement and no doubt other things, too. The men that work for the firm are many and hunky and worth thinking about and no doubt will get books as the series progresses. There was a lot going on and in many ways this is more a romantic suspense fantasy than reality story. Why? Well...humans are just that and not superheroes but then...when you pick up fiction you have to leave reality behind...at least a bit. * Did I enjoy this book? Yes * Do I want to read more books in this series? Definitely...I mean...Hawk? Of COURSE I want to read his story! Thank you to NetGalley and Harlequin for the ARC – This is my honest review. 3-4 Stars
KindleKat64 18 hours ago
This is a very entertaining first book in a new romantic suspense series but Kat Martin. This is a crazy ride we go on courtesy of Harper and Chase, two wonderfully written characters, that checked off all the aspects of a good romantic suspense. Can Harper and Chase put aside their past to work together to find her brother or will they find a whole lot more than they bargained for? So much is going on in this book but it all works and flows together very nicely. I really enjoyed it.
Anonymous 19 hours ago
I received a free copy of THE CONSPIRACY (Book 1 of Maximum Security) by Kat Martin in exchange for an honest review. Harper Winston is worried about her brother. Though troubled in the past, Michael has reinvented himself. When Michael goes on a Caribbean vacation and misses a check-in, everyone but Harper attributes it to Michael sliding back into old habits. Harper, alone in her concern, approaches an old college friend of her brother’s for help. The old friend is Chase Garrett who works for his family’s security and investigation firm, Maximum Security. Chase had previously cut Michael out of his life because of Michael’s troubles, so he’s one of the skeptics, but he’s willing to look into things for the sake of the past relationship. As Harper and Chase track Michael’s trail, their attraction to each other flares. I liked this book. It had lots of action, and the wrap-up of the Michael story line was just the beginning of the tale. If you like intrigue and action with your romance, you’ll like this novel. #TheConspiracy #NetGalley
onemused 20 hours ago
"The Conspiracy" is a romantic suspense that begins with Harper asking her former crush and brother's BFF, Chase, for his help in locating her missing brother. Michael was sailing around the Caribbean by himself but checking in with Harper every couple days. He has missed a couple check-ins, and Harper is sure that something is wrong. She knows Chase, who is former military and now runs a security/PI firm with his brothers, is the right person for the job. As they set off for the Caribbean, both Harper and Chase are trying to suppress their feelings for each other while also searching for Michael. Chase and Michael had a falling out years before when Michael was struggling with addiction. Chase is reluctant to step back in because of that and because of his bad relationship with their father, who he knows is up to shady dealings and who he thinks played a hand in Michael's problems. The book follows their search for Michael and then the problems following. While the beginning really had my interest, there were some things that I was not sure I particularly liked. One was that Harper/Chase met when Harper was 16 and he was 21, but he talks about his massive crush on her then (which strikes me as a little creepy). This was relatively minor though. There is a disturbing scene with forced voyeurism (if that is the correct term) that I was not sure was necessary, on top of kidnapping and abuse. Additionally, there is a lot of push-pull and Harper breaking up with Chase and then him insisting on not giving up, which walks the line between romantic and creepy. I felt like that could have been toned back a bit to make it more on the romance side than the creepy side. He felt a bit domineering and chauvinistic in the later parts of the book (but Harper also played into this for some reason) and the romance felt forced. I think we needed more connections between the two to really get their relationship. The scenes with the villains also felt a little forced. I would have liked to see the book end with the conclusion to the search for Michael, as the rest seemed a little over the top (and walked that line for the romance that ended up feeling creepy to me, a few scenes in particular that I won't mention specifically to avoid spoilers). I am rating three stars though because I am interested in the series and did really enjoy the first third or so of the book. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
nku 20 hours ago
The Conspiracy (Maximum Security #1) by Kat Martin ..Can I only give this 5 stars? Great start to a new series by Kat... My thanks to Kat, the publisher and #NetGalley for allowing me to preview and review this book. Harper Wilson (co-owner of a fashion business, daughter of a drug lord...she does not know this...looking for her missing brother Michael) Chase Garrett ( owner of Maximum Security ..The Max..hired by Harper to find her brother)... There is action and danger almost from the beginning of this book..there are some very realistic hard things to read but they make the story.. tears all kinds...laughs..strong friend and family feelings..hot steamy sex and action right up to the very HEA. We will see more of family and friend in up coming books...can't wait. What did you like about this book? Twisted Witty Scary Informative Happily Ever After Wonderful characters Realistic Action-packed Inspirational Entertaining Easy-to-read Haunting Page-turner Tear-jerker Steamy Unpredictable Original Romantic Funny Tragic Whimsical Great world building