by Adrian D. Bell


View All Available Formats & Editions


These volumes comprise Bell's celebrated trilogy of novelized memoirs set in the West Suffolk countryside between the two World Wars. The lasting fascination of all three books lies in the contrast between the natural hopefulness of their young author and the economic hopelessness of the scene to which he has committed his life. "A fine and delightful achievement."—The Times (London)

Adrian Bell was a journalist on the Observer before becoming a farmer in East Anglia.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780192813435
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication date: 09/18/1986
Series: Twentieth Century Classics Series
Pages: 278
Product dimensions: 0.00(w) x 0.00(h) x 0.00(d)
Age Range: 5 - 6 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews