Cosmopoly [Bonus Disc]

Cosmopoly [Bonus Disc]

by Andreas Vollenweider

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Cosmopoly [Bonus Disc]

A cosmopolitan person is a citizen of the world, and harpist Andreas Vollenweider certainly is that. In his long, rich musical career, Vollenweider has immersed himself in music from around the globe. On COSMOPOLY, he skims off the cream, with the help of some distinguished musical friends. A stellar lineup of vocalists includes the playfully acrobatic Bobby McFerrin, the hushed Brazilian romance of Milton Nascimento, the heartbreaking soulfulness of Dijvan Gasparyan (who also plays the Armenian duduk), and the bittersweet overdubs of Carly Simon on "Your Silver Key." Carlos Núñez's low whistle adds soulful warmth to "Morning Poem." There's a jazzy feel to many of the pieces. Check out the extraordinary dialogue between harp and piano (played by Abdullah Ibrahim) on "Ancient Pulse," the hip bass and drum groove (courtesy of Walter Keiser) on "Stella," and the moody yet cool trombone improvisations (a gift of trombonist Ray Anderson) on "Wil-o'-the Wisp." A few tracks feature Vollenweider's evocative compositions for Chinese instruments, while "Petit Smile" keys in on the saucy nature of the Basque accordion, played here by Kepa Junkera. The Solas String Quartet is featured on two tracks, the romantically intriguing "Vas del Sur" and "Long Road to You." Vollenweider is a gracious host throughout the album. This bon vivant of the harp can get a syncopated swing going, even in a dirge ("Hush, My Heart, Be Still"), and instills a warm glow to everything he plays.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/12/2005
Label: Kin Kou
UPC: 0795041752727
catalogNumber: 17527

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Andreas Vollenweider   Primary Artist,Bass Flute,Electric Guitar,Harp,Keyboards,Vocals,Alphorn,Acoustic Bass,Gu-Zheng,Electracoustic Pedal Harp
Milton Nascimento   Musician
Carly Simon   Musician
Ray Anderson   Musician
Bobby McFerrin   Vocals
Claudia Boggio   Voices,Pedal Bass
Djivan Gasparyan   Duduk,Musician
Abdullah Ibrahim   Piano,Musician
Mindy Jostyn   Musician
Walter Keiser   Drums
Erdal Kizilcay   Keyboards,Oud
Kepa Junkera   Musician
Andi Pupato   Percussion,Tabla,Frame Drum

Technical Credits

Andreas Vollenweider   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Logo
Milton Nascimento   Arranger
Ray Anderson   Arranger
Bobby McFerrin   Arranger
Dude Durst   Producer,Cover Design
Abdullah Ibrahim   Arranger
Walter Keiser   Arranger
Ed Tuton   Engineer
Peoro Haldemann   Engineer
David Alan Kogut   Art Direction
Hugo Faas   Producer
Moritz Wetter   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews