Counting Backwards: Poems 1975-2017

Counting Backwards: Poems 1975-2017

by Helen Dunmore

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.49 $14.99 Save 23% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Winner of the Costa Book of the Year for her final collection, Inside the Wave, Helen Dunmore was as spellbinding a storyteller in her poetry as in her prose. Many of her haunting narratives draw us into darkness, engaging our fears and hopes in poetry of rare luminosity, while all her poetry also casts a bright, revealing light on the living world, by land and sea, on love, longing and loss. Counting Backwards is a retrospective covering ten collections written over four decades, bringing together all the poems she included in her earlier selection, Out of the Blue (2001), with all those from her three later collections, Glad of These Times (2007), The Malarkey (2012) and Inside the Wave (2017), along with a number of additional poems from her earlier collections.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781780374468
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books
Publication date: 02/21/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 431
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Helen Dunmore (1952-2017) was a poet, novelist, short story and children’s writer. Her poetry books received PBS Choice and Recommendations, and Bestiary was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize. Her poem ‘The Malarkey’ won the 2010 National Poetry Competition. She published 15 novels, most recently, Birdcage Walk (2017), and three books of short stories plus the posthumously published Girl, Balancing&Other Stories (2018). Inside the Wave won the 2017 Costa Poetry Award, and went on to be named as Costa Book of the Year, only the second posthumous award in the history of the Costa/Whitbread Book of the Year.

Customer Reviews