Country Wives (Barleybridge Series)

Country Wives (Barleybridge Series)

by Rebecca Shaw
5.0 1


$8.89 $12.95 Save 31% Current price is $8.89, Original price is $12.95. You Save 31%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Country Wives (Barleybridge Series) by Rebecca Shaw

Welcome back to Barleybridge, the picture-postcard English village where everybody knows their neighbors . . .

Kate Howard is still working as the receptionist at the Barleybridge Veterinary Hospital, but now she is determined to attend veterinary college. Things are running smoothly, both at work and in Kate’s life, especially now that Scott Spencer, the handsome Australian vet who stole Kate’s heart, has left town. But Scott’s replacement, Daniel Brown, is quickly making enemies of the staff and clients alike with his abrupt style and unreasonable demands. When Dan causes the loss of an important client, the wives connected to the practice determine that something must be done to stop him.

For her part, Kate secretly appreciates Dan’s no-nonsense approach, despite everyone else’s ongoing annoyance. When Kate is faced with a devastating tragedy, Dan reveals a sad secret of his own and helps her through her crisis. But what will the rest of the town think of their newfound friendship?

Delightfully warm, engaging, and filled with the simple joys of small-town English life, Country Wives will inspire readers to return to Barleybridge again and again.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781400098217
Publisher: Crown/Archetype
Publication date: 10/28/2006
Series: Barleybridge Series
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 5.28(w) x 8.03(h) x 0.62(d)

About the Author

Rebecca Shaw is a bestselling novelist. Country Wives is the second novel in her Barleybridge series. She is also the author of A Country Affair, the first novel in the series, and of the forthcoming Country Lovers, the third Barleybridge novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Country Wives (Barleybridge Series) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Barleybridge, England Dr. Daniel Brown joins the staff of the local veterinary hospital as a temporary veterinarian. He is terrific with his patients, but he has no patience for their inane owners. In fact his lambasting of Lord Askew for mistreating a cow leads to this influential client angrily informing senior partner Dr. Price that he will go elsewhere. Price is irate over losing an affluent client and the office manager Joy wants Dan fired. However Price¿s wife Miriam thinks the new vet is a winner. So does receptionist Kate Howard, who dreams of becoming a vet one day though money is an issue.----------------- Dan takes Kate with him as he makes his rounds, which enables her to understand more of his past. She also wishes she could learn more about her biological mom whom she never met except inside the womb, as her mother abandoned her and the family when she Kate was born however she will never act on her desire because she does not want to hurt her loving dad or stepmom. Sometimes you get what you wish for as a personal tragedy enables Kate to meet the woman who dumped her years ago, the person who offers her the money to go to school if she accepts the conditions imposed on her.----------------- This fine cozy enables readers to follow the goings on in a rustic English village where in some ways the center of life is the vet hospital that cares for farm animals as well as pets. The story line is character driven mostly by Daniel who refuses to back down when he sees animal abuse even by an aristocratic patron who could cost him his job and by Kate who has to decide between her loving stepmother and her deserting mother. Readers will enjoy returning to Barleybridge for A COUNTRY AFFAIR.----------- Harriet Klausner