Cover Magazine [25th Anniversary Edition]

Cover Magazine [25th Anniversary Edition]

by Giant Sand

CD(Anniversary Edition / Digi-Pak)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Cover Magazine [25th Anniversary Edition]

Cover Magazine is like a primer on long-running Arizona institution Giant Sand: a mix of highbrow and lowbrow influences rendered with exquisite musicianship, all saturated by the hushed, plainspoken vocals of Howe Gelb. Over the years, this revolving cast of characters has been compared to everyone from Bob Dylan to Neil Young (with or without Crazy Horse), but the strongest resemblance on this live outing is to the Band (Gelb even sounds a bit like Robbie Robertson) -- assuming the Band would have covered songs like "Iron Man" and "The Beat Goes On" (twice). Gelb and company aren't making fun of the material, however; the Sabbath standard is performed in a jazzy manner with piano, conga drums, and mournful trumpet, and there's nothing particularly jokey about it. If anything, the unusual rendition brings out the pathos in the lyrics. Other notable covers include "Johnny Hit and Run Pauline," a duet with PJ Harvey (her own "Plants and Rags" also gets the run-through), and a blistering version of Nick Cave's "Red Right Hand." Further guest appearances: Neko Case and Kelly Hogan provide backing vocals on a medley of "Wayfaring Stranger/Fly Me to the Moon" and Grandaddy's Jim Fairchild helps out on Gelb's own "Blue Marble Girl." [The 2011 reissue of the album on Fire Records adds two bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/10/2012
Label: Fire Records
UPC: 0809236118028
catalogNumber: 180

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Giant Sand   Primary Artist
PJ Harvey   Vocals
Kevin Salem   Strings
Mike Grimes   Upright Bass
Kelly Hogan   Vocals
John Convertino   Drums
Howe Gelb   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Harp,Vocals
Neko Case   Vocals
Matt Ward   Piano,Vocals
Nick Luca   Guitar
Jim Fairchild   Guitar,Bottle
Joe Burns   Bass
Jacob Valenzuela   Trumpet
Aaron Burtch   Drums,Bottle
Aaron Graham   Steel Guitar
Sofie Albertsen Gelb   Vocals
John Rauhaus   Pedal Steel Guitar
Saholy Diavolana   Guitar,Vocals
Laureline Prod'homme   Bass,Vocals
Amelie Van Hoorebene   Vocals,Bottle
Noah Thomas   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Johnny Cash   Composer
Marty Robbins   Composer
Nick Cave   Composer
Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Roger Miller   Composer
PJ Harvey   Composer
Rainer Ptacek   Composer
Sonny Bono   Composer
Tony Iommi   Composer
Howe Gelb   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Craig Schumacher   Producer,Engineer
Nick Luca   Engineer
Goldfrapp   Composer
Terje Hellem   Engineer
James Nicholls   Package Concept
John Foster   Sleeve Design
Harald H. Lund   Producer
Bart Howan   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews