A Cowboy of the Pecos

A Cowboy of the Pecos

by Patrick Dearen
A Cowboy of the Pecos

A Cowboy of the Pecos

by Patrick Dearen


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 14
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


In the late 1880s, the Pecos River region of Texas and southern New Mexico was known as “the cowboy’s paradise.” And the cowboys who worked in and around the river were known as “the most expert cowboys in the world.” A Cowboy of the Pecos vividly reveals tells the story of the Pecos cowboy from the first Goodnight-Loving cattle drive to the 1920s. These meticulously researched and entertaining stories offer a glimpse into a forgotten and yet mythologized era. Includes archival photographs.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781493024162
Publisher: Lone Star Books
Publication date: 11/01/2016
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Patrick Dearen is the author of seven books, including When Cowboys Die, a finalist for the Spur Award, and three other books on the history of the Pecos River region. He lives in Midland, Texas.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 The Cowboy's Paradise 1

Chapter 2 The California Cattle Trail 11

Chapter 3 The Goodnight-Loving Trail 23

Chapter 4 The Pecos Trail Hand 41

Chapter 5 Hoof and Arrow 55

Chapter 6 Thundering Herds 67

Chapter 7 Cattle Kings Come to the Pecos of Texas 85

Chapter 8 The Open Range Cowboy of the Pecos 101

Chapter 9 Loafers, Diamondbacks, and Wild Horses 127

Chapter 10 The Big Drift 139

Chapter 11 The Big Dry 149

Chapter 12 The Pecos Comes Under Fence 161

Chapter 13 The Big Thirst 181

Epilogue 197

Bibliography 199

Index 209

About the Author 217

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews