by Judith Ayres Burke


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


COWGIRL is a galloping historical novel of the TEVIS CUP- the world famous100 mile one day endurance horse race over California's Sierra Nevada and a mother and daughter aiming to win.

DREAMS HAVE A WAY OF CHANGING. That’s what Cowgirl is always reminding her fourteen-year-old daughter, Lizzy. They certainly changed eight years earlier when Cowgirl’s husband and Lizzy’s father was incapacitated in a bull riding wreck.

But for Cowgirl, one dream has remained constant. That she and Lizzy would one day complete the Tevis Cup, the world-famous, hundred-mile, tenty-four hour endurance horse race over the Sierra Nevada mountains. Lizzy shares the dream but it is Cowgirl’s life mission on race day.

COWGIRL is the story of their attempt. With the support of their unique and skilled trail crew- a giant, a dwarf, an invalid and a tough old broad- the challenges they face, from both the natural world and the human condition, drive the evocative plot. Taking place over twenty-four hours, the saga chronicles a number of heroic journeys, not all of which involve a horse race.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781732813717
Publisher: BurkeField
Publication date: 04/10/2019
Series: Plot driven
Pages: 234
Sales rank: 675,834
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.49(d)

About the Author

Judith Ayres Burke is a horsewoman, conservation biologist and university lecturer. She is a former U.S. Senate confirmed Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Assistant Administrator for International Affairs having previously served as Regional Administrator for the EPA Southwest Region. A Harvard University Kennedy School of Government graduate, Judith has served on both corporate and nonprofit boards including as a Virginia Nature Conservancy Trustee. She is also a fly fisher, birder and occasional harmonica player. Judith and her husband live in Middleburg, Virginia and enjoy sharing their horse farm with family and friends. COWGIRL is her first novel.

Table of Contents

Authors Note ~ 1

Chapter 1 ~ Start 3

Chapter 2 ~ Peak 16

Chapter 3 ~ Granite Chief 25

Chapter 4 ~ Elevation 31

Chapter 5 ~ Cougar Rock 37

Chapter 6 ~ Elephant Trunk 44

Chapter 7 ~ Red Star 50

Chapter 8 ~ Team 58

Chapter 9 ~ Robinson Flat 66

Chapter 10 ~ Bull Wreck 74

Chapter 11 ~ Hitch 85

Chapter 12 ~ The Point 93

Chapter 13 ~ Last Chance 102

Chapter 14 ~ Blood 111

Chapter 15 ~ Tempest 116

Chapter 16 ~ Hee-haw 125

Chapter 17 ~ El Dorado Canyon 133

Chapter 18 ~ Truth 141

Chapter 19 ~ Michigan Bluff 147

Chapter 20 ~ Onward 159

Chapter 21 ~ Darkness 164

Chapter 22 ~ The Work 170

Chapter 23 ~ American River 177

Chapter 24 ~ Window 186

Chapter 25 ~ Mule 194

Chapter 26 ~ “Go” 202

Chapter 27 ~ Black Hole of Calcutta 208

Chapter 28 ~ Finish Line 213

Epilogue ~ 219

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews