Cream Collect: Balearic

Cream Collect: Balearic


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Cream Collect: Balearic

Rivalling the attempts of fellow superclub Ministry of Sound to properly anthologize a style of music, Cream Collect: Balearic is a surprising three-disc collection with an epic grasp of material to compete with the dance archaeologists over at Strut. The Balearic sound, first spun in the early- to mid-'80s by Ibizan DJs like Alfredo, grabbed all sorts of mid-tempo dance tracks from all sorts of scenes. It also ended up influencing basically the entire British dance scene after a legendary 1987 trip down by Paul Oakenfold, Danny Rampling, Nicky Holloway, Trevor Fung, and Johnny Walker. Though no one's ever attempted a proper summation of the Ibiza/Balearic style, Cream nails it properly on this first try. Sprinkled among the raft of latter-day dance producers (Leftfield, Sabres of Paradise, Thievery Corporation, A Man Called Adam, Saint Etienne, Underworld, Lamb) who were influenced by the Balearic sound are tracks from the mixes that so impressed Oakenfold, Rampling, and company back in the mid-'80s: "La Vie en Rose" by Grace Jones, "Lullaby" by the Cure, "Cherry-Coloured Funk" by Cocteau Twins, "Music for a Found Harmonium" by Penguin Cafe Orchestra, "Moments in Love" by Art of Noise, and a few songs from even more surprising sources (Carly Simon, Simply Red, Chris Rea, etc.). Yes, it's a completely different style of mixing than that heard on 99.9 percent of the other dance compilations out there, and all the more valuable for it.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/2002
Label: Emi Import
UPC: 0724381227329
catalogNumber: 812273

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Penguin Cafe Orchestra   Track Performer
David Byrne   Vocals
Grace Jones   Track Performer
Chris Rea   Track Performer
Carly Simon   Track Performer
Simple Minds   Track Performer
Simply Red   Track Performer
Blow Monkeys   Track Performer
Moodswings   Track Performer
Thrashing Doves   Track Performer
It's Immaterial   Track Performer
Aphex Twin   Track Performer
Chrissie Hynde   Track Performer
David Sylvian   Vocals
Transglobal Underground   Track Performer
Thievery Corporation   Track Performer
Sueño Latino   Track Performer
William Pitt   Track Performer
Carolina Damas   Vocals

Technical Credits

Art of Noise   Producer
Cocteau Twins   Producer
Steve Hillage   Producer
William Orbit   Producer
Bernard Edwards   Composer,Producer
Nile Rodgers   Composer,Producer
Grid   Producer
Sabres of Paradise   Producer
Robert   Producer
Eric Hilton   Producer
Simon Jeffes   Producer
Leftfield   Producer
Tom Moulton   Producer
Richard Norris   Remixing
Steve Nye   Producer
Ricky Persi   Producer
Robert Smith   Producer
David Sylvian   Producer
Paul Tipler   Producer
Andrew Weatherall   Remixing
Don Phillips   Sleeve Notes
Sub Sub   Producer
Aki Nawaz   Producer
Kruder & Dorfmeister   Producer,Remixing
Roman Flügel   Producer
Sun Electric   Producer
Angelino Albanese   Producer
Groove Armada   Producer
Sally Rodgers   Producer
Rob Garza   Producer
David "Leather Sax" Allen   Producer
X-Press   Producer
Lemon Jelly   Producer
Massimino Lippoli   Producer
Andrea Gemolotto   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews