Creating Madness

Creating Madness

by Andrew J. Rafkin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Creating Madness by Andrew J. Rafkin

Creating Madness is the first in a series of action thrillers,about a new orgaization named ORCA, firmly grounded in a world changed forever by 9/11.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940032962137
Publisher: Andrew J. Rafkin
Publication date: 12/27/2011
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 686 KB

About the Author

About Andrew J Rafkin


Andrew J. Rafkin, was born in 1946 in San Pedro, California, grew up in a commercial fishing family. Through high school, he worked on sportfishing boats, and at seventeen went commercial fishing with his father, captain of a large Purse Seiner, during summer vacation. Two years later, he worked aboard a ninety-foot fishing boat, which was caught in a hurricane force storm where Andrew almost lost his life. These events later served as inspiration for his first nonfiction true-life adventure, Red Sky Morning.


He served in the Navy during the Vietnam War and later graduated from California State University, Dominguez Hills, with degrees in economics and marketing. He is a successful entrepreneur, president of Palos Verdes Security Systems, and certified by the Department of Homeland Security. He relies on his experiences to craft the Madness trilogy; the start of the ongoing action thriller series that tackles the major concerns of a post-9/11 world. Unlike the competition, his work resounds with authority and demonstrates how the private sector can join the fight against global terrorism.


Andrew has received the EVVY literary award for Red Sky Morning and the Readers Favorite Awards for his Madness trilogy Creating Madness, Mediterranean Madness, and Mexican Madness.


He has co-authored with Louis Pagano to write Angels Gate, now available, and currently considered for a future movie.


Rafkin’s completed his new novel, Reaper Six, a true gripping story about the leader of a, Special Black Ops team missions, during the Vietnam War.


He lives with his wife, Lynn, in San Pedro, California, and spends his spare time reading, fishing, hunting, golfing, and making wine.


Visit his website: andrewrafkin.com


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Creating Madness 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Creating Madness by Andrew Rafkin begins with a bang, literally, when a terrorist¿s dirty bomb explodes in the harbor of Galveston, Texas. But the explosion is merely the first thread of the fuse, a spark of the madness yet to come. When Andre Petrov, a Vietnam veteran with degrees in business and economics, sells his multi-million dollar company, he takes on a private sector organization funded by the United States government, one vital to the nation¿s and ultimately, the globe¿s security. With others, he will oversee and operate a new design of security boats destined to guard and protect the world¿s coastlines. Raitreef ¿Reef¿ Johansson, a retired commander in the Navy SEALs, is placed in charge of construction. Alexis Mikos, a former Greek Secret Service Agent, is as beautiful as she is deadly. Together with a cast of intriguing, unique characters, they form Oceans Reconnaissance Commission and Associates, otherwise known as ORCA, and appointed with the task of creating these super weapon vessels of extreme capabilities and putting them to work. Kim Su Hon, a North Korean Naval Commander, festers with a monstrous hate, one conceived through the bloody death of his family during the Korean conflict. He¿s hell bent on exacting his revenge, his hunger for it reaching far beyond the boundaries of sanity. Hon uses his intellect as a weapon, devising a formula of attack against America and her allies on multiple levels. As Hon joins with others who intend the most harm to the United States, her most ardent enemies, the threat posed magnifies, surpassing any that a color classification could possible contrive. Creating Madness is the first in a series of action thrillers firmly grounded in a world changed forever by 9/11. The political postulations are eerily possible, providing a powerful punch to the story¿s fast pace. Rafkin makes smart use of dialogue to convey the vast amounts of technical data. Author Andrew Rafkin 'Red Sky Morning', a Vietnam veteran with a love of sport and commercial fishing reaching back to his child and a successful security systems entrepreneur, has put his diverse and impressive background to good use, writing with a technically authoritative voice and a well-conceived plot that keeps firing until the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After a dirty bomb was detonated in the harbor of Galveston, Texas, Andre Petrov forms a team of elite specialist to protect the United States coast. The Oceans Reconnaissance Commission and Associates, O.R.C.A, team includes Commander ¿Reef¿ Johansson and Alexis Mikos. North Korean, Kim Su Hong, has a insane plan to extract vengeance on the United States. O.R.C.A faces a continuing challenge when Hong teams up with Muslim extremes. Creating Madness by Andrew Rafkin has a nonstop action-filled plot. I have long been a fan of adventure books. Where Clive Cussler¿s, Dirk Pit is over-the-top, the lead character, Andre Petrov, is realistic. I usually prefer the characters to be over-the-top but was not disappointed in Petrov. Rafkin combines technology with likable characters and a plot ripped from the headlines. Fans of Cussler and Clancy will want to add Andrew Rafkin to their list of must-read authors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A good book, well constructed. A good blend of technology and storytelling. Produces a engaging story, that is totally believable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Creating Madness is a compelling story with exciting characters. I especially liked Alexis. She's a refreshingly independent, smart and strong woman who isn't at all your 'damsel-in-distress' type. I also found the story line eerily echoes the climate of today's global involvement in dealing with terrorist threats. I'm looking forward to the next installment in the 'Madness' series.