Crime of Privilege

Crime of Privilege

by Walter Walker
3.6 25

Paperback

$9.93 $15.00 Save 34% Current price is $9.93, Original price is $15. You Save 34%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, August 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE

In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.
 
A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.
 
All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.
 
Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.
 
What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption.

Praise for Crime of Privilege
 
“Twisting, engrossing, irresistible.”—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob
 
“Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!”—John Lescroart
 
“A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption.”Maclean’s
 
“A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author’s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp.”Bookreporter
 
“An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.”—Examiner.com

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345548375
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/11/2014
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 803,148
Product dimensions: 5.19(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.94(d)

About the Author

Walter Walker is a trial lawyer in San Francisco. He lives in Marin County, California, and on Cape Cod.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crime of Privilege: A Novel 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
Having lived in Massachusetts for just over two and a half years, it always adds another element to reading when you can envision some of the places mentioned in a novel, and you’re at least familiar with the name-drops of some of the other locations. The connection is immediate, and rather fulfilling, and if that was all CRIME OF PRIVILEGE had to offer, it would have given me one layer of enjoyment. But this particular novel offers readers so much more. Cape Cod, and the Massachusetts backdrop that sits at the heart of this novel, offers a great locale for the ongoing debate of old money versus new money, and the ways in which the rich manipulate the legal system to their advantage. It’s an interesting argument, and one well-worth the merit of an entire novel. Great writing certainly doesn’t hurt either. The characters offer the reader more than just mere caricatures and stereotypes, and the story flows across time and locations with effervescent ease. George Becket is a man with a tainted soul, along with a tainted past, and he’s a character worth getting to know. His motivations may not have always been one hundred percent clear, but I was willing to forgive this minor transgression of the author for the sake of a rather engaging read. From the first page to the last, my attention was cemented within the confines of this novel. The chapters came in short, staccato bursts, and I found myself flipping pages faster than a speeding train. The settings were rich, and traipsed through a variety of locales, like you would expect from any international thriller. My biggest complaint was that the novel had to end. If you’re looking for an entertaining legal thriller, then you might want to keep CRIME OF PRIVILEGE in mind. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
SUEHAV More than 1 year ago
I read the first 100 pages and really got interested. Then it really slowed down and I did something I almost never do. I skipped 200 pages and started to read there. Guess what..I didn't miss a thing. Skipped 25 more and read to the end. Got the whole gist of the story and the ending was very unsatisfactory. Don't waste your time.
comett More than 1 year ago
A rape in Palm Beach twelve years ago and a nine year old murder on Cape Cod both point towards the Gregory clan, a wealthy and highly influential Massachusetts political family. Both investigations were stonewalled and nobody was ever brought to justice. Nevertheless, a ruthless former special forces operative continues his investigation, acting as a proxy for an embittered father seeking vengeance for the rape, subsequent downward spiral, and eventual death of his daughter. Another father, frustrated with the lack of progress in the investigation of his daughter's murder, seeks help from George Becket, a young lawyer with the Cape Cod and Islands district attorney's office who also has his own demons to purge. Clues lead Becket to Boston, New York, Idaho, Hawaii, California, Costa Rica, and France in search of people who, along with the victim, purportedly partied with the Gregorys at their Cape Cod compound on the night of the murder. All, including Becket, have had their silence bought, one way or another. In summing up, many of the characters have a past and the need to atone is one of the novel's leitmotifs. Several of the Gregorys, including the senator/ family patriarch, committed acts ranging from immoral to out and out evil, yet are compelled to be philanthropists and public servants who accomplish enormous good for many. And solving the Cape Cod murder is perceived by George as expiation for his own less than honourable conduct twelve years prior. As an aside, the author is surely joking when he introduces his novel as "a fictional work about invented characters". Seriously though, Crime Of Privilege is an intriguing page turner with a plot greatly enhanced by exotic locales and the histories of its characters. It is highly recommended for fans of the mystery genre.
MA76 More than 1 year ago
A fast moving book but with so many characters, it was difficult to keep track of who was who. Actually none of them were very good - I think! Too much twisting and turning. The plot was confusing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this novel. it went on and on endlessly. I kept waiting for some conclusions to be brought to light. I guess that was not the author's intention, but for me  that didn't work. The ending was totally unsatisfactory for me. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walker is a decent writer. Sample was not long enough to reveal to me that this is in large part an attack on a thinly disguised prominent American political family. Wish I had my $$$ back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the beginning of this book. It starts out and grabs you almost immediately and then it takes a big nose dive and for me, never recoverd. Halfway through I felt like I was reading a book loosely based on the Kennedy's, specifically the William Kennedy Smith case. I soon lost interest and had to force myself to finish reading the book. I wouldn't recommend unless 1. You're a fan of an author who doesn't have his/her own thoughts and ideas for a book and needs to take ideas from the headlines and 2. You dislike reading about the Kennedy's.
Atthebeach More than 1 year ago
The story sounds and is familiar. Very Kennedyesque. The young of the famous family getting away with rape and murder. But it's far more complex than that as some characters try to do justice, solve crimes, tell the real story. The forces at play are powerful and have influence and will do whatever they can to save the family. But there are those who will sacrifice all to do the right thing. Good back and forth on how this will turn out until virtually the end. 
pmt More than 1 year ago
Very easy read, very entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
whatsnew More than 1 year ago
The old axiom-Life goes on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A surprisingly good read. Took a chance on it and am glad I did.