Crosscut (Evan Delaney Series #4)

Crosscut (Evan Delaney Series #4)

by Meg Gardiner

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, September 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Crosscut (Evan Delaney Series #4) by Meg Gardiner

Evan Delaney knew China Lake was a tough place to grow up. But she never knew how tough until now?she returns to the desert military base for her high school reunion, and learns that a number of her classmates have died young. Then, on the first night of the reunion, another one dies? this one savagely butchered. And she?s just the first. Someone has an axe to grind?and Evan?s graduating class has something to fear.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451225221
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/02/2008
Series: Evan Delaney Series , #4
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 472,742
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Meg Gardiner previously practiced law and taught at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Originally from Southern California, she now lives with her family in London. The Dirty Secrets Club is her first novel published in the U.S. She will be promoting The Dirty Secrets Club on a national tour this summer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crosscut (Evan Delaney Series #4) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
SK-fan More than 1 year ago
Wow! The plot was a masterplan. Thoroughly enjoyable and unpredictable, I thought. Gardiner is really a genuis at the modern hard-boiled detective genre. This was a really quick read for me and it wasn't what I consider a short novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Neil_Collins More than 1 year ago
Crosscut is the fourth in Meg Gardiner's Evan Delany series, and a masterfully written and constructed story. This time around, Evan and her on again, off again fiancé Jesse have returned to China Lake California for Evan's high school reunion only to learn that an inordinate number of her classmate have passed away under odd circumstances. And yet another alum missed the festivities because she had been brutally tortured and murdered that evening. And I though my reunion sucked! Gardiner's knack for detail and thorough research shine through the telling and lend not only an authority to the telling, but also make the danger and drama all the more present. The story unfolds and draws the reader along with each twist and turn, being shocked along with the characters. We also get the treat of meeting Evan's parents this time out. Cleverly, Gardiner has laid out enough back story over the past books that neither requires long introduction, and their personalities add volumes to further understanding who Katherine Evan Delany is, and why. Mostly though, I like this story because the heroes aren't super cops or action figures. Instead, they're normal people with feelings and problems and flaws, just like the rest of us. The thing that sets these people apart is, rather, an astounding level of gumption and grit. They overcome their personal demons because they have to in order to stay alive or to keep others from harm. Gardiner employs an unusual technique in writing this book that I have had mixed feelings about in the past. That is, while the parts involving Evan are told first person, from Evans narration, there is a lot of additional story telling done in third person; the narrator is unknown and the reader is now privy to things the primary character isn't. As a rule, writers aren't supposed to jump back and forth; however, this author has pulled it off and added a great deal to the reader's perspective. I do highly recommend Crosscut, though I suggest reading the previous three in order to better grasp the characters and back story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In high school, Evan Delaney and her class go on a field trip to the Naval Base in China Lake to do some sketches of drawings on a canyon. Evan and three other girls slip away and go where a project is being blown up, which they witness. Various Federal agents interview the four high school females, but eventually they return to school. Evan goes on with her life assuming the incident was nothing.============= Evan accompanied by her lover Jesse attends her high school class¿ fifteenth year anniversary gala. Those who died are commemorated, but no one notices that the people who died are way higher than average in this grouping. Someone killed one of the high school witnesses before the reunion and a second one just after the event. Evan soon learns that a black ops experiment being blown up was what they actually observed fifteen years ago. Now anyone remotely associated with Project South Star is being killed Evan will not sit idly by waiting her turn.================ This is the fourth Meg Gardiner thriller I read and as with the others this super author hooks the reader with plenty of action and a heroine who is a woman in peril, but takes care of herself although that drives the men in her life crazy especially Jesse who loves her. The story line is fast-paced and a bit over the Sierras, but fun to read as Jessie will do anything to keep his beloved Evan safe even when she, in his mind, foolishly risks her life to stop the Captain America replica.======= Harriet Klausner