Crucial Acoustic Blues

Crucial Acoustic Blues


$10.30 $10.99 Save 6% Current price is $10.3, Original price is $10.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Alligator Records shows a different side of its house-rocking face on this 13-cut collection of acoustic blues. While Muddy Waters, Robert Johnson and Bukka White don't appear here, other performers -- some of whom one normally associates with overdriven electricity -- are. Buddy Guy is present, as is Stevie Ray Vaughan. Koko Taylor's "The Man Next Door" is here and it's one of her greatest performances on record. In addition, Johnny Winter, who was no stranger to a National Steel string bottleneck earlier in his career, returns to give it another go, and the true roots doctor Corey Harris is here with "God Don't Ever Change," and Carey and Lurrie Bell with "Stop Running Around." Guy's "Hi Heel Sneakers" is terrific as is Winter's "Evil on My Mind." But it's those that are normally associated with the acoustic blues like Harris, Saffire -- The Uppity Blues Women, Cephas & Wiggins, John Jackson and the legendary Sonny Terry who come off best, bringing the true rhythm and mystery with them into their songs. This is a hip collection that will make the feet shuffle and the backbone slip. And it's sold for a song, so why not?

Product Details

Release Date: 05/22/2007
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551012429
catalogNumber: 124


  1. High Heel Sneakers
  2. Oreo Cookie Blues
  3. Stop Running 'Round
  4. Down in the Alley
  5. Sloppy Drunk
  6. The Man Next Door
  7. Railroad Bill
  8. Evil on My Mind
  9. Trouble in Mind
  10. So Tough with Me
  11. Baby Bee
  12. God Don't Ever Change
  13. The Dirty Dozens

Album Credits

Customer Reviews