Crusading Iowa Journalist Verne Marshall: Exposing Graft and the 1936 Pulitzer Prize

Crusading Iowa Journalist Verne Marshall: Exposing Graft and the 1936 Pulitzer Prize

by Jerry Harrington


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, January 27


On December 12, 1934, police raided a canning factory in Cedar Rapids, uncovering an illegal liquor and gambling set-up. Verne Marshall, tempestuous editor of the Cedar Rapids Gazette, sensed a bigger story and a wider network of corruption. His aggressive investigative reporting led to multiple resignations, nearly fifty indictments and the dramatic trial of the state's attorney general. These explosive exposés earned Verne Marshall and the paper the 1936 Pulitzer Prize. Author Jerry Harrington traces the legacy of Marshall's incendiary crusade across Iowa's political landscape.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781467135979
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing SC
Publication date: 01/09/2017
Pages: 144
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Jerry Harrington of Iowa City, Iowa, has spent a lifetime writing about Iowa history. A frequent contributor to Iowa History Journal (IHJ), he recently won the 2016 George Mills-Louise Noun Popular History Award from the Iowa State Historical Society for the IHJ series "Iowa Governors of Influence." Harrington recently retired as marketing public relations manager for DuPont Pioneer in Johnston, Iowa. He has worked for advertising/public relations agencies in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and Rochester, New York. He has also worked for newspapers in Spencer and Clear Lake, Iowa. He graduated from Cornell College, Mt. Vernon, Iowa, in 1977 with degrees in English and political science and received his master's degree in history from the University of Iowa in 1981.

Table of Contents

Prologue: The Meeting 11

1 The Reporter 15

2 The Raid 25

3 The Trail 35

4 The Exposes 49

5 The Resignations 59

6 The Indictments 67

7 The Backlash 79

8 The Trial 91

9 The Prize 105

Epilogue: The Aftermath 117

Notes 129

Bibliography 137

Index 139

About the Author 143

Customer Reviews