Crushed! The Love Song Collection

Crushed! The Love Song Collection

by Holly Near


$15.64 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.64, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Crushed! The Love Song Collection

Holly Near would be the first to admit that love songs are not her métier, and in fact, she admits it right up front in her liner notes to this compilation: "I was never much for writing love songs," she writes. "My passion was in social change music." But there have been a few love songs over the years, and now that she is repackaging her old Redwoods Records recordings into new thematic collections for Calico Tracks Music, she has assembled some of them here. The obvious exception to her aversion for love songs -- and the one that proves the rule -- is her 1987 album Don't Hold Back, on which she decided to try her hand at making a conventional pop
ock LP. With its synthesizers and heavy drums, its guest vocalists (Bonnie Raitt, Kenny Loggins), and its unconvincing songs, it was her weakest album. And it is compressed into the first eight tracks here, sounding no better (in fact, given the trendiness of its sound, a little worse) than it did before. After that, things improve, with songs like "The Letter" (a farewell to a dying friend) and "Backing off and Pulling Away" providing individual takes on companionship and romance. "The Right to Love," a 1963 Lalo Schifrin/Gene Lees composition previously heard on the 1998 album Fruit Cocktail, has a different tone from the originals and suggests that Near perhaps should have included more cover material. As it is, Crushed! The Love Song Collection illustrates one of the weaker aspects of an otherwise strong talent.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/2002
Label: Calico Tracks Music
UPC: 0646506000627
catalogNumber: 6
Rank: 141567

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Holly Near   Primary Artist,Vocals
Barbara Higbie   Piano
Michael Manring   Bass
Linda Tillery   Vocals
Kenny Loggins   Vocals
Bonnie Raitt   Vocals
Robben Ford   Electric Guitar
June Millington   Guitar,Percussion
Ray Obiedo   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Nancy Vogl   Guitar
John Bucchino   Piano,Keyboards
Carrie Barton   Bass,Electric Bass
Judy Chilnick   Vibes
Sheila Escovedo   Percussion
Beth Fitchet   Guitar,Vocals
Tris Imboden   Drums
Jeff Jorgenson   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Lala   Percussion
Jan Martinelli   Acoustic Bass
Sapphron Obois   Horn
Vicki Randle   Percussion
Pam Sawyer   Horn
Guy Thomas   Vocals
Doug Webb   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Dave Wells   Trombone
Bernice Brooks   Drums
Sarah T. Cline   Horn
Caille Colburn   Harp
Bonnie Johnson   Drums
Susan Laraine   Horn
Ylonda Nickell   Horn
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Adrienne Torf   Piano,Keyboards,Prophet Synthesizer
Cam Davis   Drums
Bob Glub   Bass
Steve Wood   Keyboards,Vocals

Technical Credits

Lalo Schifrin   Composer
Holly Near   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Rubén Blades   Composer
Mary Watkins   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Gene Lees   Composer
Evie Sands   Producer,Engineer
June Millington   Producer,Engineer
John McCutcheon   Producer,Engineer
John Bucchino   Composer
Tom Anderson   Producer,Engineer
Carrie Barton   Composer
Richard Corsello   Producer,Engineer
Leslie Ann Jones   Producer,Engineer,Rhythm Track Arrangement
Terry Kath   Composer
Jeff Langley   Composer
Terry Nelson   Producer,Engineer
Doug Parry   Producer,Engineer
Joanie Shoemaker   Producer,Engineer
Jo-Lynne Worley   Producer,Engineer
Irene Young   Cover Photo
Adrienne Torf   Composer
Wayne Carson Thompson   Composer
Susan Gottlieb   Producer,Engineer
Steve Wood   Producer,Engineer
Susan Glaser   Graphic Design
Will Brady   Horn Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews