Curse at Zala Manor

Curse at Zala Manor

by BBH McChiller

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

First book in the Monster Moon mystery series. Fun, spooky mysteries for ages 8 to 12.

Terrific reviews: From Children's Literature Review: The Zantony family has a long history in the old pirate town of Craggy Cove. AJ Zantony knows he is different, but he never expected his premonitions of ghosts and zombies to lead to fulfilling his family legacy. As his Aunt Zsofia prepares for her annual Halloween party at Zala Manor, AJ unlocks the remains of a long--standing curse upon the Zantony estate. AJ and his science partner, Emily, must discover the secrets of the Zantony family history to end the curse before midnight on Halloween. As if that was not enough to keep AJ and Emily busy, they are also pursued by Calvin, Dirk, and Runt, the class bullies. Acting like real-life monsters, the three bullies are determined to make fun of AJ and Emily at all costs. Their antagonizing becomes a major hindrance in the fight against the haunting curse. However, the two are not alone on this mission; AJ and Emily are helped by a mysterious rat who leads them through the dank and dark history of the Zantony family and Zala Manor. This is the first of the "Monster Moon" series by BBH McChiller, a trio of writers from California with varied backgrounds that add up to dynamic and vivid storytelling."

Review from Monster Librarian: "In the vein of The Goonies and There's a Batwing in My Lunchbox comes Monster Moon: Curse at Zala Manor….This book has it all: secret tunnels and talking animals, mad science and real monsters. Perfect for in-class reading in elementary schools and early middle schools. Equal parts scary, mysterious, gross and silly, it's pure fun. Definitely recommended for all collections aimed at fostering a love of reading."

BBH McChiller is the creation of the minds of three authors: Lynn Kelley, Kathryn Sant, and Maria Toth. The Monster Moon series began one Halloween as a discussion about their greatest fears and ended up being one of their most rewarding experiences.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940011492761
Publisher: BBH McChiller
Publication date: 09/03/2011
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 908 KB
Age Range: 5 - 13 Years

About the Author

BBH McChiller is the creation of the minds of three authors:Lynn Kelley worked as a court reporter for 25 years while she and her husband, George, raised their four little monsters. Her story, "The Jobo Tree" won her Highlights for Children's Author of the Month Award. She authored a picture book, Merry as a Cricket (WhipperSnapper Books), an ebook, Trio of Haunting Tales – Spooky Short Stories, a chapter book due for publication in 2012, Curse of the Double Digits, and is currently working on a young adult novel. She tries to keep her overactive imagination in check and is a big scaredy cat who's afraid to watch horror movies. She lives in Southern California. Check out her website at lynnkelleyauthor.com and her LynnKelleyAuthor channel on YouTube.Kathryn Sant loves adventure anywhere in the world, and the more off the beaten path, the better. Over the years she has encountered bats in caves, alligators in swamps, wolves and bears in Alaska, parrots and macaws in the jungle, sidewinders in the sand dunes, llamas in the Andes mountains, and caribou in the Arctic, but never any monsters. Of all monsters, she would most like to write about the Yeti. She really enjoys working on the Monster Moon series and someday would like to see AJ and Emily come face-to-face with the Yeti. She has previously published a middle grade adventure, Desert Chase (Scholastic Books), and is currently working on two new middle grade novels. Most of the time she lives peacefully in Southern California with her three dogs.Maria Toth lives in Southern California with her husband and their two spoiled dogs, Jack and Sally. Her favorite holiday is Halloween. She enjoys haunting bookstores in search of ghostly tales to share with her Reading Buddies at local schools. On any given day, you may find her reading epitaphs at historic graveyards. Maria has a background in journalism. She edited the kids’ pages at the San Bernardino County Sun. Several of her children’s stories have been published in the Los Angeles Times. Her middle grade historical fiction novel, Butterfly Hollow, will debut as an ebook in 2012. She is currently working on a book about the R.M.S. Titanic.About the Illustrator - Greg Martin:Greg Martin is a freelance illustrator who grew up on a constant diet of cartoons. His animation creations have been used by studios such as Disney, Hanna-Barbera, Warner Brothers, and Marvel Productions where he was key designer in the animation department. He is a graduate of the Art Center of College of Design in Pasadena, California. Mr. Martin currently resides in Colorado. Visit his website at: greg-martin.com

Customer Reviews