Cuts Across the Land [US Bonus Tracks]

Cuts Across the Land [US Bonus Tracks]

by The Duke Spirit


$9.28 $9.99 Save 7% Current price is $9.28, Original price is $9.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, February 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Cuts Across the Land [US Bonus Tracks]

Collecting songs dating back to the band's very first singles and EPs, Cuts Across the Land showcases the Duke Spirit's fiery, bluesy indie rock. It's clear that they worship PJ Harvey (especially on "Win Your Love"), Patti Smith, and the Velvet Underground -- influences that are pretty much the touchstones for any cool, tough-sounding band with a powerful frontwoman. However, the Duke Spirit manages to wear these influences in a way that seems more broken-in and comfortable than derivative, like an old concert T-shirt that still looks too cool to stop wearing. Like their geographically and musically similar contemporaries the Kills, the band brings new energy to these influences, although the Duke Spirit is rawer and grittier (and with a lineup that's 250 percent larger than that of the Kills, a much fuller-sounding band). Singer Liela Moss is indeed a force to be reckoned with, an equally aloof and alluring presence that acts as the Duke Spirit's lightning rod, steering the band from bold moments like the title track and "Lion Rip" to appealingly weary ballads like "Hello to the Floor" and "Bottom of the Sea." Cuts Across the Land is a strong, self-assured debut, even if the Duke Spirit needs to work a little harder to escape the long shadow of their forebears.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/07/2006
Label: Vagrant Records
UPC: 0601091043121
catalogNumber: 431
Rank: 146815

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Spirit   Primary Artist
Dan Higgins   Guitar,Piano,Group Member
Liela Moss   Harmonica,Tambourine,Vocals,Shaker,Group Member
Olly Betts   Cymbals,Drums,Tambourine,Group Member
Luke Ford   Guitar,Vocals,farfisa organ,Group Member
Toby Butler   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Bass Guitar,Group Member
Brian Olive   Baritone Saxophone
Ray Dickaty   Baritone Saxophone

Technical Credits

Flood   Producer
Giles Hall   Producer
Dan Higgins   Composer
Simon Raymonde   Producer
Raj Das   Engineer
Liela Moss   Composer
Luke Ford   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews