Cyberspies: The Secret History of Surveillance, Hacking, and Digital Espionage

Cyberspies: The Secret History of Surveillance, Hacking, and Digital Espionage

by Gordon Corera


$26.96 $29.95 Save 10% Current price is $26.96, Original price is $29.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions


The previously untold—and previously highly classified—story of the conflux of espionage and technology, with a compelling narrative rich with astonishing revelations taking readers from World War II to the internet age.

As the digital era become increasingly pervasive, the intertwining forces of computers and espionage are reshaping the entire world; what was once the preserve of a few intelligence agencies now affects us all.

Corera’s compelling narrative takes us from the Second World War through the Cold War and the birth of the internet to the present era of hackers and surveillance. The book is rich with historical detail and characters, as well as astonishing revelations about espionage carried out in recent times by the UK, US, and China.Using unique access to the National Security Agency,GCHQ,Chinese officials, and senior executives from some of the most powerful global technology companies, Gordon Corera has gathered compelling stories from heads of state, hackers and spies of all stripes.

Cyberspiesis a ground-breaking exploration of the new space in which the worlds of espionage, diplomacy, international business, science, and technology collide.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681771540
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 07/05/2016
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Gordon Corera is a Security Correspondent for BBC News. He has presented major documentaries for the BBC on cybersecurity, including Crypto Warsand Under Attack: Espionage, Sabotage, Subversin and Warfare in the Cyber Age. He is the author of The Art of Betrayal. He lives in London.

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

Introduction 8

1 Birth 17

2 Marriage 38

3 Into the Cold 53

4 Coming of Age 67

5 Spy-hunting 89

6 Crypto Wars 103

7 Attack 134

8 Enter the KGB 146

9 Out of the Cold and into Cyberspace 158

10 Titan Rain 176

11 In the Wires 202

12 Britain and the Cyber Spies 225

13 Dissent 250

14 Sabotage 272

15 The Lights Go Off 289

16 Rebirth - Cables 305

17 Britain 331

18 Exposure 350

Epilogue: To Infinity and Beyond 382

Acknowledgements 392

Notes 393

Index 421

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews