Damage Control

Damage Control

by Curtis Salgado
Damage Control

Damage Control

by Curtis Salgado


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


In a career spanning four decades, singer/songwriter and harmonicist Curtis Salgado has explored many different dimensions in the American roots music mosaic. Though considered a blues singer, Salgado draws few distinctions between blues, soul, R&B, and roots rock; they all merge in the resonant grain of his honeyed, gritty baritone voice. Damage Control follows Rough Cut, the singer's very satisfying 2019 deep blues duo outing with guitarist Alan Hager. Cut with three bands in three different studios, Salgado worked in Nashville, Studio City, and San Jose, California with players recruited from the bands of Bonnie Raitt, Buddy Guy, Robert Cray, Charlie Musselwhite, and more. Damage Control hosts 12 originals and a cover of Larry Williams' R&B classic "Slow Down," famously covered by the Beatles as the B-side to "Dizzy Miss Lizzie" in 1964. Opener "The Longer That I Live" is a strolling R&B barn burner with an affirmative and poignant lyric, given the health challenges Salgado has faced: three separate bouts of cancer and a quadruple bypass. The strolling guitars and shuffling B-3 underscore his soulful testimony, delivered with his warm, requisite humor balanced by steely determination. Ultimately, it's an anthem of gratitude for the time he's been given and a refusal to surrender breathing before it's time. Many would argue, and not incorrectly, that Salgado is at his best when singing about the trials and travails of romance. "What Did Me In, Did Me Well" adds heft to that argument. A simmering R&B tune with a bumping bassline and choogling organ, Salgado delivers an unflinching portrait of romantic love's redemptive power, complete with a fine Stevie Wonder-esque harmonica solo. A pumping piano leads the boogie on "You're Going to Miss My Sorry Ass," a humorous tune about two generations of brazen, unrepentant criminals. "Count of Three" channels the early rock glory days of Fats Domino, the Big Bopper, and Huey "Piano" Smith. A swinging three-piece horn section joins the band for "Hail Mighty Caesar," which is drenched in steamy, strutting New Orleans R&B. Salgado's voice revels in the irony contained in his sly lyric. "I Don't Do That No More" is a steely-eyed yet wry paean to the joys of recovery set to a biting Chuck Berry/Johnnie Johnson riff, while the title track is a midtempo blues stroll with glorious jazz guitar fills. Cajun accordion hero Wayne Toups joins Salgado on "Truth Be Told." It weds the vocal harmonies of the Everly Brothers to Clifton Chenier's back-of-the-bayou zydeco groove. The riotous cover of Williams' "Slow Down" brings the horn section back to close the set out with a roots rock/vintage R&B rave-up. Though he's never released a substandard album, Salgado has been on a roll since issuing his Alligator debut Soul Shot in 2012. Damage Control, from the rock & roll side of the R&B tracks, stands alongside it as a career high point. ~ Thom Jurek

Product Details

Release Date: 02/26/2021
Label: Alligator / Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551500223
Rank: 70646


  1. The Longer That I Live
  2. What Did Me in Did Me Well
  3. You're Going to Miss My Sorry Ass
  4. Precious Time
  5. Count of Three
  6. Always Say I Love You (At the End of Your Goodbyes)
  7. Hail Mighty Caesar
  8. I Don't Do That No More
  9. Oh for the Cry Eye
  10. Damage Control
  11. Truth Be Told
  12. The Fix Is in
  13. Slow Down

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Curtis Salgado   Primary Artist,Vocals,Harmonica
Johnny Lee Schell   Guitar,Bass,Vocals (Background)
Wendy Moten   Vocals (Background)
Wayne Toups   Vocals,Squeezebox
Mark Winchester   Bass (Acoustic)
Dave Gross   Guitar
Jerry Jemmott   Bass
Michael Bard   Sax (Tenor)
Mike Finnigan   Organ,Piano
Chris "Kid" Andersen   Guitar,Bass (Acoustic)
Alan Hager   Guitar
Gary Harris   Sax (Tenor)
Tony Braunagel   Drums
George Marinelli   Guitar
Tim Bryson   Sax (Baritone)
J.T. Lauritsen   Vocals (Background)
Jim Pugh   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Tommy MacDonald   Bass
Jackie Miclau   Piano
Kevin McKendree   Organ,Piano
Kevin Hayes   Drums
Jack Bruno   Drums

Technical Credits

Mike Finnigan   Composer
Chris "Kid" Andersen   Engineer
Alan Hager   Composer
Vyasa Dodson   Composer
Dennis Carter   Engineer
Sandy Solomon   Mixing
Justin Tocket   Engineer
George Marinelli   Composer
Reuben Cohen   Mastering
Kevin Niemiec   Package Design
Ryan Waters   Composer
Jessica Keaveny   Photography
Jackie Miclau   Composer
Suzanne Dominique   Composer
Alby Alan   Composer
Kevin McKendree   Composer,Engineer
Curtis Salgado   Composer,Producer
Larry Williams   Composer
Johnny Lee Schell   Engineer
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews