Damage Done

Damage Done

by Amanda Panitch

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.79 $9.99 Save 2% Current price is $9.79, Original price is $9.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Overview

"In the vein of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Panitch’s novel delivers a heart-pounding, emotionally charged story." --SLJ

22 minutes separate Julia Vann's before and after.
 
Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend.
 
After: She has a new identity, a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.
 
Now that she’s Lucy Black, her fresh start has attracted the attention of one of the hottest guys in school, a boy who will do anything to protect her. But when someone much more dangerous also takes notice, Lucy’s forced to confront the dark secrets she thought were safely left behind. How far will Julia go to keep her slate clean?
 
One thing is clear: The damage done can never be erased. It’s only just beginning. . . .
 
In this deliciously twisted contemporary YA, family can be a real killer. For fans of We Were Liars and readers who love unique multiple perspectives that leave clues like breadcrumbs until they reach this thriller’s stunning conclusion.

"The closest we're going to get to a YA Gone Girl. . . . I was shocked and delightfully appalled by the twist and what followed. (Just read it; it's disturbingly wonderful, especially for YA.)" --Entertainment Weekly

"Teen fans of Gillian Flynn and James Patterson will embrace Damage Done and clamor for more." --Booklist

"Exceedingly clever and surprisingly unsettling, Damage Done is an unforgettable read." --Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Made for You

"In her incredible debut novel, Amanda Panitch leaves you on the edge of your seat. Prepare to be stunned. Prepare to be torn apart." --Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist

"A real page-turner. . . . Nothing can prepare readers for its bombshell ending."
--New York Daily News

"A brilliant thriller. Gillian Flynn for the YA set." --Amy Christine Parker, author of Gated

"If you're a fan of shows like Pretty Little Liars or Revenge, give this book a try." --Bustle.com

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553507522
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 05/17/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 463,464
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

AMANDA PANITCH grew up next to an amusement park in New Jersey and went to college next to the White House in Washington, DC. She now resides in New York City, where she works in book publishing by day, writes by night, and lives under constant threat of being crushed beneath giant stacks of books. Visit Amanda online at amandapanitch.com and follow her on Twitter @AmandaPanitch.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Damage Done 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Katie_breathofbooks More than 1 year ago
This book was a very good read that was hard to put down. It was difficult to tell which characters you were able to trust versus which displayed psychopathic or sociopathic tendencies. I was surprised by the ending once everything was revealed. I also really liked Julia's boyfriend, Michael, and her best friend, Alane.
BookNerd464 More than 1 year ago
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
Incredible! I was hoping that this book would perform to my expectations and it far exceeded anything I imagined. As the book progressed, I became wrapped up inside the story and couldn’t believe how remarkable and astonishing the story became, I loved it! I am so happy that I won this book from The Reading Date because now I can reread it later as this novel is definitely a keeper. The cover itself is worth a thousand words, the facial image poking itself out of the script lettering but what you find inside, yes….a keeper, my folks. I will not spoil this novel for you as you definitely need to experience it for yourself. Her twin brother changed all their lives in just 22 minutes in the band room and now, Julia has become Lucy. There are flashbacks to when her brother Ryan was seeing a therapist before their lives changed. I loved how the flashbacks just appear, at the appropriate place in the novel; you see how things transpire. Julia (Lucy) and Ryan, they were so much alike yet so different. The lies that Lucy (Julia) tells to keep her front going, you know that eventually things will catch up with her. I was waiting for the ball to drop and yet, I wondered what would happen in the story when they did. In their mother’s world, what happened is behind them and no longer applies but Lucy (Julia) thinks differently. Something is not right but what can Lucy (Julia) do and who can help her? The mystery and suspense is terrific in this novel, building and building, the writing drawing you in until your world no longer exists. This has become one of my favorite novels that I have read this year. Thank you The Reading Date for the contest, I love the book!
MorrisMorgan More than 1 year ago
“Damage Done” is a book I expected to enjoy if the description was any indication, but I had no idea just how far beyond my expectations it would go. It’s the perfect blend of mystery, thriller, and to be quite honest, “messed up.” Julia Vann is living a new life after a horrific crime committed by her twin brother, Ryan. The story is told in her voice, which is very well-written and easy to read. While her circumstances are extraordinary, she is going through many things that are relatable to anyone who has been a teenager: crushes, social cliques, distant parents, and assorted other annoying adults. She’s definitely a narrator that leaves the reader wanting to know more. The plot is perfectly paced with small flashbacks to the past written in with what is currently happening. To add a bit of an outside view, there are a few notes from Ryan’s psychologist added between some of the chapters. It allows the reader to learn the entire story at a slow pace, or if they prefer playing detective, gives enough clues and room between them for many theories to be developed. Be warned: The book is quite disturbing and does have graphic violence as well as animal deaths. I believe that none of it was gratuitous in terms of the story and was a necessity in establishing the pattern of a growing sociopath. I can’t say much else without spoilers, but if you’re squeamish this is not the book for you. I definitely recommend “Damage Done” for all adults and older young adults who like twisted thrillers and mysteries with a good dose of psychology. Please take note of the older above. It isn’t a good choice at all for the younger ya readers. This review is based upon a complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
I am a little surprised by how much I ended up enjoying this book! I have to admit that I went into this book with rather low expectations so the fact that this turned out to be really good makes me very happy. The more I read of the story the more I was hooked. I had to leave for work with only 4 chapters of the book left to read and I found myself sneaking peeks all day until I finished. This is not my normal behavior but I just had to know how this book would end. I couldn't get this book out of my mind until I read the very last word. Very few books are that hard for me to put down and I appreciate the ones capture my attention like this one did. I did guess some of the major twists in this book but I never felt confident that I had it figured out. I felt compelled to keep turning pages to see if my guess was right and sometimes it was. There was a whole lot in this story that I never expected to see and there was enough unpredictability to really keep things interesting. I think that the manner in which everything was revealed really kept the story suspenseful until the very end. I found the characters to be really interesting. Lucy, also known as Julia, was probably one of the most interesting characters that I have read in quite some time. The story is told from her point of view and it is that storytelling that held my attention. Her friends, Michael and Alane, were the perfect support system for Lucy. I didn't really relate to any of the characters or find them to be very likeable but I also didn't dislike any of them. I think that all of the characters fit perfectly into this little story just as they are. I thought that the pacing of this story was near perfect. The plot never hit a slow point. There was just enough information given as the story progressed to raise more questions. The more I learned the more I felt I needed to know. I really liked this author's writing style and found this to be a very easy to read book. I would highly recommend this book to others. This is a YA novel but it is a little darker than usual book in this genre. It does deal with violence including a school shooting so it may not be the right book for some younger teen readers. This is Amanda Panitch's debut novel and I can't wait to see what else she comes up with in the future. I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Books for Young Readers via NetGalley for the purpose of providing an honest review.