Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery

Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery

by K.B. Owen

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery by K.B. Owen

An unseemly lesson...in murder.
The year is 1896, and college professor Concordia Wells has her hands full: teaching classes, acting as live-in chaperone to a cottage of lively female students, and directing the student play, Macbeth.
But mystery and murder are not confined to the stage, especially when the death of Concordia's sister, Mary, appears to be foul play. To make matters worse, the women's college is plagued by malicious pranks, arson, money troubles, and the apparent suicide of a college official. With her beloved school facing certain ruin, Concordia knows that she must act. As she struggles to seek justice for her sister and discover who is behind the college incidents, there are some closest to Concordia who do not appreciate the unseemly inquiries and bold actions of the young lady professor. Can she discover who is responsible...before she becomes the next target?
Absorbing in its memorable characters, non-stop plot twists, and depiction of life in a late-nineteenth century women's college, Dangerous and Unseemly is a suspenseful and engaging contribution to the cozy historical mystery genre. Fans of Harriet Vane and Maisie Dobbs will find in Concordia Wells a new heroine to fall in love with.

"The exquisitely plotted mystery will keep you turning the pages well into the night, and the richness of the world will keep you thinking about the story long after you put it down."
~ Janice Hamrick, award-winning author of Death Makes the Cut

"What a perfectly enjoyable debut! The author seamlessly works in the finely wrought historical details that make the reader feel totally at home. ...truly a delight to read. I'll definitely be awaiting more adventures of the intrepid Miss Wells."
~ Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780988997400
Publisher: Dystel & Goderich Literary Management
Publication date: 02/25/2013
Pages: 354
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.74(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Kathlingram 6 months ago
A new series for me..rounded up to 5 Stars from 4.5 but quite good for a new series. I enjoyed the mystery and the premises behind what Concordia and her associates did for a living and found important. The characters needed some depth but Concordia and David Bradley were fairly well developed and I am glad they will be ( or so I imagine) part of a developing series. I am also glad Julian Reynolds and a few others may not appear. A fine first mystery. K.B.Own, I liked it!
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
In an 1890's Hartford, Connecticut woman's college, Concordia Wells begins her teaching career as this brilliant historical mystery series begins. Lots of historical facts, local descriptions, woman's history, and mystery fill the pages of KB Owen's first novel. Murder, thievery, medical mysteries, and a little romance keep these pioneer college girls busy, while they prepare to perform MACBETH with an all female cast in woman's costume.  It is still "unseemly" for girls to dress in male clothes.  For men, women are still meant to be wives and mothers, and they definitely shouldn't strain their minds with books and studies. Even Concordia's mother is disturbed by this daughter's academic choices.  While the school staff is trying to figure out what has happened to suspected missing funds, the school's financial officer is found to have committed suicide.  Concordia is engrossed in her classes and the students' dramatic pranks but her newly married sister is seriously ill, taking Concordia away from school for days at a time.  But her imagination and mind are drawing her into the mysteries at the college.  She finds help from a strange detective source at the school. She also gets herself into dangerous, nearly deadly situations, as the mysteries get solved. I highly recommend this series to all history cozy lovers.  Concordia is a great new character!  The facts and literary quotes make great additions to the mystery. Great start to this new series!
EllieAnn More than 1 year ago
Some historical fiction is so crowded with details and history and setting that the story is bogged down with it. Not in this book! Although you can tell the author researched everything she mentioned, the voice is light and fast-paced and the pages went flying by. I really enjoyed this heroine, and the charming plot. I highly recommend it!
Bookish23 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this new character immensely - Concordia in 1896 is solving mysteries against the backdrop of women's emergence into higher education and politics.