Dark Game: A gripping crime thriller that will have you hooked!

Dark Game: A gripping crime thriller that will have you hooked!

by Rachel Lynch

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

DI Kelly Porter knows some people will risk everything to get ahead. But when the truth comes out deadly prices are paid... 

After a scandal forces DI Kelly Porter out of the Met, she returns to her home turf in the Lake District. Crimes in the Cumbrian constabulary tend to be of the minor sort, but Kelly begins work on a cold case that shocked the local community – the abduction and brutal murder of ten-year-old Lottie Davies.

Meanwhile, Kelly is also investigating two seemingly straightforward crimes: a case involving an illegal immigrant, and a robbery following the death of local businessman Colin Day. But evidence comes to light that reveals a web of criminal activity beyond anything Kelly imagined. Behind the veneer of sleepy, touristy towns lies a dark and dangerous underworld. As Kelly threatens to expose those with much to lose, she risks paying the ultimate price to get to the truth…

Don’t miss this taut and gripping debut from a crime writer to watch. Perfect for fans of Carol Wyer, Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons.

Praise for Dark Game

The investigations come to a dangerous conclusion. Be prepared to be taken on a journey’ 5* Reader review

DI Kelly Porter, a modern day kickass superhero lady!’ 5* Reader review

'Definitely following this author for future work! I'm REALLY looking forward to seeing more of DI Kelly Porter!' Book Lover Reviews

‘A dark and gritty fast paced thriller with a twisty turny, interwoven plot that had me excited to reach the climax’ Gemma’s Book Nook

'It grabbed me from the first word… I absolutely loved Kelly’s character! … I loved everything about this book and was genuinely disappointed to have finished it. I would highly recommend this one!' Stardust Book Reviews

'The story is frighteningly realistic; the crimes, as they take place are described brilliantly… the next one can’t come soon enough.' Nigel Adams Book Worm

'Will keep you up all night… This is a must-read book.' Karen's World

'What an exceptional story… It's gripping and definitely a page-turner… I was completely hooked and struggled to put the book down.' Book Lover Reviews

What a fantastic read! I loved this book, the characters were interesting and likeable and I can't wait for book 2! The plot was exciting and full of emotion and twists, it was just a really great book that I thoroughly enjoyed.’ NetGalley reviewer

‘I could not put it down and it's a refreshing change to have a police female lead who is positive but normal! A new role model in the making’ 5* Reader review

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788630153
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 01/29/2018
Series: Detective Kelly Porter , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 350
Sales rank: 480,046
File size: 583 KB

About the Author

Rachel Lynch grew up in Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her. London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years. A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Game: A gripping crime thriller that will have you hooked! 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
WhisperingStories More than 1 year ago
After working in London as a detective for the last few years, DI Kelly Porter has returned home to Cumbria amid a scandal. Now working in an area with less crime, Kelly sets about working a five year old cold case of ten-year-old Lottie Davies, who went missing on a family day out. Her body was eventually found brutally murdered, but no-one had been charged with her death. Not long after beginning her investigation, Kelly is called to the Thwaite Hotel where a local prominent figure has been found dead in bed. Whilst there were no suspicious circumstances, it would seem that he had been enjoying the company of a young lady before his death, and video evidence shows that she robbed him before leaving. Whilst simultaneously running the two cases, Kelly is shocked when the same name appears in both. Could there possibly be a connection between the two? Dark Game is a real page turner. The book had me hooked straight away with its two plots that intermingled. I couldn’t, for around half the story, work out how the two were connected. It was an eye opener when the dots were finally joined. This is a real dark thriller containing scenes of a sexual nature, violence and plenty of bad language, some not easy to digest. If you are sensitive to any of these then this may not be the book for you. However, with the gritty, hard-hitting plot, these scenes are perfectly justified and the book wouldn’t work without them. They have been done with expertise and the author has clearly done her research. The vast array of characters are all well formed and have all been cast in their roles perfectly. They are exceptionally realistic, which is also quite scary to think about. The twists in the plot came thick and fast, and there were plenty of surprises along the way. I found it completely unputdownable and although I had to once, the second time I picked it up I read for a few hours straight, right until the early hours of the morning. I needed to know where the story ended. I was left satisfied with the closure, then, the author added the epilogue which left me open mouthed. Looks like we have a contender for who is going to show up in book two. Fair play to you Ms. Lynch I really didn’t see that coming, even-though looking back there had been a few hints along the way. This is a thriller that has been well written, full of surprises, has hard to swallow scenes and one I couldn’t put down. Now bring on book two, I can’t wait.
Andrew Jensen More than 1 year ago
A well done effort from Rachel Lynch. I enjoyed much of Dark Game. The few things I didn't would be spoilers so I won't delve into these. Suffice it to say the problems are in certain actions that seem to affect many police procedurals. Kelly Porter is a CI for a small town having come from London after being thrown under the bus by her partner. She has been assigned a cold case of a murdered child. She is also given a new case which begins to share names with the cold case. This is a police procedural so things can seem like they aren't moving quickly enough. As Kelly begins to piece the puzzle together the tone and tempo of the book increases. Rachel Lynches style of writing kept me engaged throughout. New evidence is presented as it might be in a real life investigation. Kelly's character has a bit of flesh on her to make her an intriguing protagonist. The strain in her relationship with her sister is relateable as is her mothers concern over her choice of profession. Her love interest is little more than a shadow but he is so,ething that can be built in further books. I can see a bright future in for her in new novels. Other characters are not fleshed out nearly as well. Darren the junkie, Marko the boss, Curtis his hired muscle are all stereotypes. This doesn't work against the book since we know more than Kelly Porter does. There are loose ends but they didn't necessarily need to be tied off. Not sure how the title and book cover fit the story but once you start reading it becomes a moot point. The best praise I can offer is wanting more. I'd like to thank the publisher, Canelo, Rachel Lynch, and NetGalley for my free revoew copy in exchange for my honest review.