Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers Series #1)

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers Series #1)

by Michelle Rowen
4.0 51

Paperback(Original)

$8.02 $9.99 Save 20% Current price is $8.02, Original price is $9.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, November 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Kiss 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
CaptivatedRding More than 1 year ago
For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. <i>However</i> , I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things about it. I am sooo glad I did. The story starts with an average teen girl, Samantha, who FINALLY gets a kiss from her longtime crush. And instead of a choir of angels singing (hehe), and bells ringing, we find out the kiss wasn't exactly a GOOD thing. After Sam experiences this kiss and decides to go home, she runs into Bishop, an angel sent from Heaven. And, Bishop is everything you'd expect an angel to be. He's dreamy, kind, and level-headed. Well, at least that's what we know of him <i>now</i> . It's apparent from the beginning that there's some supernatural connection between Sam and Bishop and that they are just NOT going to be able to stay away from each other. I liked that as the story unfolds, so do the characters. I learned that what you see isn't necessarily what you get with <i>any</i> of the people in this book. Right down to Kraven, the demon who is a part of Bishop's team on earth, to keep order in Sam's town. I started out assuming certain things about everyone and then gradually came to realize that there was so much more under the surface. I'm hoping the next book explores more of these characters' personalities. I have a feeling that some of the people I thought were &quot;bad&quot;, may not really be. I definitely suggest reading this book. Even if, like me, you may not really be into angels. DARK KISS is a very original story and I'm eager for the rest of the series, already.
Readergirl_Revus More than 1 year ago
I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at this from what I liked and disliked. First, here's what I liked: The entire concept for this story was pretty unique. Although I've read quite a few angel stories, Michelle Rowen did bring a new and interesting angle to it in that things aren't as cut and dried as angel vs. fallen angel. There are other entities involved, the Grays, and this is what brought the uniqueness to the story. I haven't previously read about these creations that can suck out a soul with a kiss. So this definitely had me very interested and intrigued. And Samantha being lured into this by a longtime crush was suspenseful. I also liked most of the characters. The biggest draw for me were Bishop's &quot;friends.&quot; As they began to appear, it really added a great dynamic. Some of my favorite scenes were between these guys, Bishop and Samantha. These guys were interesting and I loved watching them interact with each other. Some of them are sweet, some are somewhat irritable and abrasive, but it made for really fun reading. The few little things I didn't like... I wasn't quite sure how Samantha and Bishop ended up becoming so enamored of each other in no time flat. I would have liked to have seen a little bit more of a progressive buildup to the romance. Additionally, there just wasn't much excitement to this pair for me. I actually was more interested in her interactions with the demon on Bishops team, Kraven. There was some great tension there. The second thing for me was how quickly Samantha trusted. This woman who was the ultimate cause of everything that's going wrong for her right now arrives, gives her a story to explain away her actions...a story that doesn't even justify anything, and Samantha bought right into it without a second thought. The woman has stolen her soul, ultimately, but hey, she just did it because she's trying to help Samantha. It wasn't logical, even if you consider the fact that the woman is her aunt. She still wasn't trustworthy in any way and had no proof for her words. But Samantha swallowed it whole. These things aside though, the story was still very interesting. The strength lay in the author's writing. It was suspenseful and intriguing. Bottom line, I did enjoy the story and I will pick up the next in the series.
kimba88 More than 1 year ago
The tale begins in heaven with Bishop being hurled to Earth on a life or death mission. The scene then jumps to introduce us to seventeen year old protagonist Samantha. She is headed home when she passes a very handsome dark hard boy who appears to be in trouble. Remembering her past runaway stint, she offers to help. Bishop is confused, very confused. He has been sent to Earth to find another angel and two demons. Together they must stop an evil that is consuming Trinity, New York. If they fail all of humanity could be lost and he is unable to locate them. When Samantha touches Bishop, there is an electrical current. He begins to have clarity and she has a horrible vision of the city destroyed. She sees herself falling into a giant swirling vortex and Bishop is unable to save her. As Bishop head clears, he mumbles about finding the spotlights and not being able to see them. Samantha points and says you mean like that? They quickly realize that Samantha can see the beacons and she leads him to the first one. The tale that unfolds is suspenseful as Samantha finds herself in the middle of an epic battle that&rsquo;s results could change the world. The characters in Dark Kiss are all unique. Samantha is both brave and impossibly stubborn. She is quickly learning everything she thought about herself and her world is wrong. She has an insatiable hunger that cannot be fed and must face impossible decisions. The biggest problem is who to trust. I like Samantha, but I didn&rsquo;t love her. I would have liked her to be a little more mature and more snarky. Bishop is an angel and has the weight of the world on his shoulders. He is dark and brooding and needs Samantha more then she even realizes. Other key characters were Kraven, Carly, Zach, Roth and Conner. I really liked the handsome demon Kraven and look forward to reading more about him. Carly is Samantha&rsquo;s BFF and at first I didn&rsquo;t like her, but she surprised me. There is also an old homeless man who appears to see things and I loved the way he spoke in riddles. It will be interesting to see how Rowan develops these characters and their individual story lines. Rowan&rsquo;s world-building was fascinating. I really liked learning her take on souls and what occurs when we die. The history of angels and demons had me captivated. One of tales had me rooting for Samantha and Bishop. The threat she has created for humanity is interesting and the reaction of Heaven and Hell felt both believable and unique. Fans of Supernatural will see similarities with the angels and demons. I am anxious to see how this plot develops. I am hoping to see more of this fleshed out in book two and I&rsquo;d really like to see character growth in Samantha. She has the potential to be an awesome protagonist. Rowan delivered a fast paced novel that flowed well and kept me entertained.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is full of challenges both mentally and physically. Mentally because Samatha has to resist her very nature to suck peoples souls but to tell herself that she'll be alright. She also has to come over her hunger in  order to be with the one she loves the most, Bishop- a smart and good looking angel from heaven (literally). She also has to overcome physical issues. Some of the physical issues include long distance running and restraint around Bishop. She has to do all of this in order to save Bishop and three other angels and two demons in order to  ride the world of all the creatures like her, incubuses. They suck souls and that is how their population keeps growing to were the devil and God see it fit to unite and destroy them but Bishop and Samantha stand in the way with emense love and affection for each other.
JustRead99 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book on a whim because, honestly, I liked the cover. So surprise, surprise when I read it and actually liked it....a lot. The author made me love the characters and really care about what happened to them. I would read this author again.
Book_Owl1 More than 1 year ago
Just the excerpt of the book made me TOTALLY into it, and it was barely anything!!!!! All out great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book wasn't all that great. The cover art is beautiful but the story line wasn't all that great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Dark Kiss and the second book called A Wicked Kiss were both excellent!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this about a year ago. Thrilling and unexpected!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vampire-Love More than 1 year ago
I've read Michelle's Nightshade series so I was intrigued by her writing a YA series. Book 1 came up on an Audible sale, so I thought I'd try it out. I will start by saying I LOVED it! I couldn't stop listening! The characters are sarcastic and fun even as they are surrounded by darkness and drama. The chemistry between them is perfect and you can almost see the story playing out in your head as you read it. Now I will say, it does have a Vampire Diaries feel to it... A girl that is a rare paranormal anomaly, her love interest the Angel, but the attraction to his brother the demon. The storyline does make for great suspenseful drama though and I've already started on book 2.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tara4787 More than 1 year ago
I was a little sceptical because I am an adult reading a TEEN book, BUT it was a very good read. The book is well written and holds your attention through every twist and turn. I recommend to taking the ride ;)
LunaRavenclaw More than 1 year ago
An enthralling journey about the reluctant yet fiery heroine Samantha Day and the team of angels &amp; demons she must help to save the world. A thoroughly enjoyable read. That said, I found the vocabulary to be a bit juvenile. 4/5 Stars. Fans of Rachel Vincent, Cara Lynn Schultz, Tracy Deebs, and Rick Riordan alike will enjoy this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hav tis book an i loved every bit of it i can not wait til next book comes out this one was so awesome ^_^