Dark Skies: A Journey into the Wild Night

Dark Skies: A Journey into the Wild Night

by Tiffany Francis-Baker


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In this beautifully written nature narrative, Tiffany Francis explores nocturnal landscapes and investigates how our experiences of the night-time world have permeated our history, folklore, science, geography, art, and literature.

Darkness has shaped the lives of humans for millennia, and in Dark Skies, author Tiffany Francis travels around Britain and Europe to learn more about nocturnal landscapes and humanity's connection to the night sky.

Over the course of a year, Tiffany travels through different nightscapes across the UK and beyond. She experiences 24-hour daylight while swimming in the Gulf of Finland and visits Norway to witness the Northern Lights and speak to people who live in darkness for three months each year. She hikes through the haunted yew forests of Kingley Vale, embarks on a nocturnal sail down the River Dart, feeds foxes on a south London estate, and listens to nightjars churring on a Sussex heathland.

As she travels, Tiffany delves into the history of the ancient rituals and seasonal festivals that for thousands of years humans have linked with the light and dark halves of our year. How has our relationship with darkness and the night sky changed over time? How have we used stars and other cosmic phenomena to tell stories about our lives and the land around us?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472964595
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 11/05/2019
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,219,178
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Tiffany Francis is a writer, artist and environmentalist from the South Downs in Hampshire. With a mixed background in the arts, rural heritage and conservation, her work is fuelled by a love for the natural world and a passion for protecting it. She writes and illustrates for national publications and has appeared on BBC Radio 4 and Channel 4. Her first book Food You Can Forage was published in March 2018.


Table of Contents

Chapter One: Witching Hour

Chapter Two: Ghost Stories

Chapter Three: Polar Night

Chapter Four: Taxus Baccata

Chapter Five: Greenwich

Chapter Six: Under Dark Skies

Chapter Seven: The Mountain

Chapter Eight: The Wickerman

Chapter Nine: Midnight Sun

Chapter Ten: Fern Owl

Chapter Eleven: The Dart

Chapter Twelve: Poet Stone

Customer Reviews