Dark Truth

Dark Truth

by Mariah Stewart

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28

Overview

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a novel of sexy romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.

WILL THE TRUTH SET HER FREE–OR SET A TRAP?

Murder didn’t end Nina Madden’s life–it destroyed it. When her father was charged with the serial killings of several college students, Nina and her mother became pariahs in their small Maryland town. Though Nina never believed the hideous accusations, evidence led to her father’s conviction and guaranteed the death penalty. After the execution, Nina left Stone River to escape the hatred and persecution . . . but she couldn’t shake the lingering doubts.

More than twenty years later, those doubts are stirred to grim life. A new series of murders is plaguing Stone River: a killing spree that bears a striking resemblance to the one that sent Nina’s father to the death chamber. And Nina isn’ t the only one disturbed enough by the gruesome events to take notice. Wes Powell, the cop who pursued the original case, can’t ignore the eerie similarities between the crimes . . . nor their harrowing implications. Drawn back into a mystery that refuses to die, Nina and Wes will cross paths on their dangerous quest–and find themselves in the crosshairs of a bloodthirsty predator.

In matters of crime, there are many versions of the truth.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345476692
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/25/2005
Series: Truth Thriller Series , #3
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 532,797
Product dimensions: 4.16(w) x 6.87(h) x 0.88(d)

About the Author

Mariah Stewart is the bestselling author of numerous novels and several novellas. A RITA finalist for romantic suspense, she is the recipient of the Award of Excellence for contemporary romance, a RIO (Reviewers International Organization) Award honoring excellence in women’s fiction, and a Reviewers’ Choice Award from Romantic Times magazine. A three-time recipient of the Golden Leaf Award and a Lifetime Achievement Award winner from the New Jersey Romance Writers, she has been inducted into their Hall of Fame. A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband, two daughters, and two rambunctious golden retrievers amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania. She is a member of the Valley Forge Romance Writers, the New Jersey Romance Writers, and the Romance Writers of America.

Read an Excerpt

One
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Dark Truth"
by .
Copyright © 2005 Mariah Stewart.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Truth 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
emigre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A daughter estranged from her rapist/murderer dad is plunged into absolving his guilt 16 years later in this absorbing read. Stewart is good at putting you in the scene with meticulous descriptions of the characters' actions, almost too meticulous at times, still, her deft plotting keeps you from being drowned under by the details. Unlike the crimes would suggest, this is not a thriller that would leave you chilled, probably due to the warm relationships the protagonist has with her allies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was an amazing read. I dont see how it could have been boring to someone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was so obvious 'who did it' by the end of the first chapter. The whole book was a bit juvenile and very disappointing.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1989 Nina Madden attends the College of St. Ansel in Stone River, Maryland, the same school where her dad teaches English Literature. She is elated to be moving out of her home to a sorority house as she does not get on well with her stepmother Olivia. However, her euphoria dies when the police handcuff her dad, who is suspected of being the murdering Stone River rapist................. In 2005 Nina works in New York, but is going home for the first time in years to attend Olivia¿s funeral. Father Whelan gives Nina a box from her father who died in prison. When she gets home she sees a letter her dad wrote to Olivia in which he apologizes for cheating on her with his students and driving her to take the actions she did. He will take the fall for what she did. Nina wonders if her father¿s crime was adultery while Olivia was the real killer. She turns to a suspense writer friend for advice and begins looking into the Stone River Rapist case not realizing that her actions will lead her to cop Wes Powell and someone else both whom want her to drop her inquires................ . The truth about Mariah Stewart is she is an incredible writer as affirmed by her latest high quality thriller. The story line focuses on Nina who has not fully moved on from when her father was arrested and convicted. The note stirs her sense of justice though her dad had accepted all responsibility. Fans will enjoy this deep amateur sleuth tale as readers will wonder how Olivia could be the killer as implied by the note when the victims were also raped. Another one sitting tale from Ms. Stewart............. Harriet Klausner