Darkness With a Chance of Whimsy

Darkness With a Chance of Whimsy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Collected for the first time since their initial publications, Darkness with a Chance of Whimsy presents ten tales from the imagination of R.J. Sullivan. Thrills and chills await you, but you may also get blindsided by the absurd. This volume includes a pair of stories featuring Rebecca Burton, the mysterious investigator of R.J.'s acclaimed paranormal thriller series. Among the ten stories, you'll find:

"The Assurance Salesman" shows five strangers more about themselves than they ever guessed.

You don't want to venture into Daddy's basement in "Fade."

Rebecca Burton tries to talk someone out of a bad idea in "Backstage Pass."

A bullied police detective finally defeats his rival in "Able-Bodied."

A desperate father finds the "Inner Strength" to save his young daughter, "Becky" Burton.

A child seeds his aquarium with a most unusual "Starter Kit."

A brilliant robotics engineer creates a "Robot Vampire."

Product Details

BN ID: 2940151249409
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Publication date: 06/15/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 200
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

R.J. Sullivan’s novel Haunting Blue is an edgy paranormal thriller and the first book of the adventures of punk girl Fiona “Blue” Shaefer and her boyfriend Chip Farren. Seventh Star Press also released Haunting Obsession, a Rebecca Burton Novella, and Virtual Blue, the second part of Fiona’s tale. The short stories in this collection have been featured in such acclaimed anthologies as Dark Faith Invocations by Apex Books and Vampires Don’t Sparkle. His next book due out very soon will be Commanding the Red Lotus, which collects the series of science fiction novelettes in the tradition of Andre Norton and Gene Roddenberry.

R.J. resides with his family in Heartland Crossing, Indiana. He drinks regularly from a Little Mermaid coffee mug and is man enough to admit it. www.rjsullivanfiction.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Darkness With a Chance of Whimsy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
lauralovesreviewingLT More than 1 year ago
Short stories and collections are like a cornucopia of snacks for me. And I binged with these. There are ten stories in this collection. Some are flash fiction, super short. And then there are some longer ones. All of them made me ‘think.’ Since they are short stories, I can’t really say much without spoilers. Instead I’ll give you some snippets from my head. If you were offered the chance to see inside your loved ones head and find out how they see you, if they really love you, would you? Should you? Never, ever put on strange head gear. Especially if your father invents psychic gizmos. Good cop, better cop? Split the difference? This was such a strange, twisted tale and my favorite in the collection. How an infant’s memory can get so twisted out of whack. I had to laugh at the ending. Two young lovers and a second chance angel. A computer that makes you smart? I’ll take one, please. Sometimes it’s better not to keep a secret. It’s true. The past should stay in the past. Just how big is the universe and what cause the Big Bang? The last story and my second favorite. What you get when you cross a vampire with a….. All of these were great. All of them made me think. While they’re short in words, those words were strongly written. You’ll zip through this collection in no time and reach the end feeling a bit out there. Take a step into the outof.