Daughter of Providence

Daughter of Providence

by Julie Drew
4.2 8

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.95 $15.95 Save 31% Current price is $10.95, Original price is $15.95. You Save 31%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Daughter of Providence by Julie Drew

The "sympathetic and compelling" (Cleveland Plain Dealer) novel about a young woman untangling family secrets and claiming her independence.
Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family.
Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781590208151
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Publication date: 06/26/2012
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Julie Drew is associate Professor of English at the University of Akron, where she teaches writing, film, and cultural studies.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Daughter of Providence 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
RevDeb More than 1 year ago
Betrayal, innocence, passion and mystery – author Julie Drew masterfully weaves these elements through a fresh tale that draws the reader in and doesn’t let go until the stunning conclusion. This is a story that will transport you and leave you wanting more; I found myself re-reading sections and hoping that Ms. Drew continues the saga in another book. Daughter of Providence is a wonderful read, beautifully written, original, and thought provoking; you don’t want to miss this one!
booklover51AF More than 1 year ago
I read quite a lot of historical fiction, though not much set in the twentieth century, and I was knocked out by this. The atmosphere is wonderfully vivid and memorable, but the best thing about the novel is its sharply realized characters and their complicated relationships. The plot is strikingly interesting. I found this novel powerful and affecting, and it lingers in my mind. I read so much that I forget most novels fairly soon after I read them, but not this one.
docmarting More than 1 year ago
Daughter of Providence is what excellent writing is all about: a strong, intriguing story line; powerful, page-turning drama; exquisite attention to language that is often poetic. Although I bought the book in hardback, I plan to get an e-book copy to have the novel close at hand. A superb first novel from an author worth following.
Itibrout More than 1 year ago
The setting of this novel is Providence, RI, which initially didn't interest me, but I quickly learned how relevant Anne's lessons were to my own life. Anne is learning who she is in an environment where a woman obeys her elders and her betters (in both cases, men). I found myself comparing my own philosophical and generational differences with my father as I read the novel, and I remembered all the times I thought, "When do I take a stand?" Then I compared the class struggles of the novel, particularly the results of a rapidly diminishing working class and a rapidly growing prejudice towards immigrants, and I realized that I could be reading about any American city today. The storyline is good, but it's the parallels that get you. Drew reminds us what happens to those who forget history. . .
Melody47 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in a day. It was great. It kept me guessing until the very end. I can't wait to read another of Julie Drew's books. She's an awesome writer. check it out!!!
Lancebada More than 1 year ago
Set in the labor, ethnic, and sexual politics of 1930's New England, this book still manages to be oh so relevant to today. At its core it is a family drama about the cost of keeping secrets and the even greater price of discovering the truth. The characters are wonderfully drawn; the plot kept me guessing until the final page; the prose is simply beautiful. A great summer read. It will keep you reading late into the night.
the1pahoh More than 1 year ago
Daughter of Providence offers insight into the challenges inherent in our American melting pot. While we watch the new relationship develop between Anne, white and privileged, and her step-sister Maria Christina, second generation immigrant, we also see the pristine public image of Anne's father falter and implode changing the lives of everyone involved. Despite the depth of the multiple issues impacting the characters, such as race, class, education, and more, Drew's writing style makes this an easy but highly engaging read. Simply put, it's a page turner with a shocker of an ending readers should not miss.
hpollock More than 1 year ago
My friends think my love of historical fiction means I’m boring. To them I hold up this novel and say “ha ha!” Drew has, yes, given those of us who enjoy learning about a place or time via literature something to sink our teeth into. (I have never been so engaged by the details of labor disputes and the effects of the depression – surprisingly interesting stuff.) BUT, once you’re teeth are sunk; you find it’s into a juicy slab of flesh – the story is visceral, intriguing. The passions of forbidden love, love against all odds, mistaken identities, death-defying drama – all of the elements of a romance novel (rescued from baseness, that is) are wrapped somehow lovingly inside the story of a mother’s love…it makes you feel like you’re getting away with something! And, you come away as if you’ve read three or four different books, even though it’s just one, gripping, first-off, from an author I’ll be sure to keep reading.