Daughter of the God-King

Daughter of the God-King

by Anne Cleeland
4.6 7

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, October 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Daughter of the God-King by Anne Cleeland

"Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Tracy Grant will find Cleeland's espionage thriller their cup of tea."—RT Book Reviews

The Cursed Tombs of Egypt Hold Many Secrets...

Miss Hattie Blackhouse has never been close to her parents...and no wonder, since the Blackhouses are renowned scholars who spend most of their time excavating ancient tombs in Egypt. But news of their disappearance forces Hattie to leave England and embark on a voyage that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her past. An encrypted senet board and a gold medallion lead Hattie on a perilous quest to track down her missing parents—and discover why people associated with the Blackhouses continue to turn up dead. What she uncovers is a secret that could alter the course of history...

Filled with intrigue, romance, and ancient secrets, Anne Cleeland's thrilling novel takes you on an unforgettable Egyptian adventure.

Praise for Anne Cleeland's Tainted Angel:

"Espionage and steamy passion—Regency style—burning up the pages from chapter one."—Raine Miller, New York Times bestselling author

"An exhilarating Napoleonic adventure in which no one is what they seem, including the intrepid hero and heroine. My kind of book!"—Teresa Grant, author of The Paris Affair

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781402279850
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 11/05/2013
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 679,741
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Anne Cleeland holds a degree in English from UCLA as well as a law degree from Pepperdine University and is a member of the California State Bar. She writes historical fiction set in the Regency period and contemporary romantic suspense. A member of the Historical Novel Society, she lives on Balboa Island, California and has four children. Her first novel was Tainted Angel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Daughter of the God-King 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
dibbylodd More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent blend of mystery, history, romance, and adventure. All with an engaging female lead character. Missing parents, a friend's unlikely engagement, deaths, intrigue in Egypt, a shocking revelation about majors characters, and so much more. I highly recommend it for a fine reading experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Satisfying, full of supense, spies and twists. Great characters. Sequel would be great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JKW24 More than 1 year ago
Historical romance, mystery, intrigue with archaeology thrown into the mix. The history and archaeology are very real which is set out intricately and beautifully.  There is so much mystery regarding each person and their circumstances. None of the people are what they seem contributing to the mystery and intrigue of the story. Everyone could be the killer for differing reasons. However, the killer is the least likely suspect until the end.  She did her research well. Fascination book with so many twists and turns. Fantastic author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mirella More than 1 year ago
In Cornwall England, Hattie Blackhouse has come of age and now seeks to reunite with her famous archaeologist parents who are archaeological explorers in Egypty. When she discovers her parents are missing, she travels to Egypt to find them. But something sinister is going on and Hattie soon finds herself embroiled in intrigue with her very life in danger.  This historical novel has much going on - a feisty heroine, complex characters, plenty of mystery and espionage, and even a little romance. Set near the end of the Napoleonic, I enjoyed the exotic setting of this fun romantic adventure and the many twists and turns the story takes. Despite the over-abundance of characters which sometimes made it difficult to recall who was who, and who sometimes slowed the pace, this was a most enjoyable tale!
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Anne Cleeland's Daughter of the God-King is a Regency novel with an Egyptian twist. Napoleon is in exile and Europe is quite a mess during the time period of this book, which makes the atmosphere ripe for a political intrigue and mystery. Cleeland's book is a mix of genres. Romance, mystery and history collide to provide the reader with a reading experience they won't soon forget. Witty dialogue, in depth character development, and a lush and vibrant setting combine to make this a book that is a feast for the senses as well as the mind! There are tons of characters to keep track of in this novel. That's the easy part. There is the main character, her parents who are missing, her companion, a love interest, the French, the British, the Egyptian's and many other secondary people, who have an interest in the outcome of the story. They each play an integral part in the bi-play and fabric of the story and Cleeland is a master at development. The characters are easy. But keeping up with all of the different motivations and reasons each of these characters has for flocking around English heiress, Hathor Blackhouse, can be quite confusing. Readers may need a little background on the times to understand everything that plays a part in this one, but it's well worth the time to find out. Named for the goddess of fertility, Hattie Blackhouse is quite the main character. She is intrepid and resourceful  She has a temper and she has been contained for far too long. Her parents are highly successful Egyptologists and they have spent their lives in the Valley of the Kings, leaving their daughter a somewhat neglected childhood. But once she decides that she is the maker of her own destiny things change drastically for her. Hattie starts her quest for change in Paris, where she learns that her parents are missing from a Thebian dig site, revered to be the grave of the daughter of Seti I. She tackles a little bit of everything in her quest to find her parents and Cleeland does a masterful job of showing how she grows and changes along the way especially in the development of her feeling for Berry. Berry is a mysterious acquaintance of her parents, who Hattie initially meets as she finds him searching her room. Berry has this air of sophistication about him that readers will love. Throughout most of the book, they won't be able to figure out just who's side Berry is really on. Hattie's feelings for him grow, as she learns more about him, but he's hiding something and Cleeland makes that into a mystery in itself. The dialogue between Berry and Hattie is captivating. Cleeland does an excellent job of building tension between them and keeping the reader guessing as to Berry's intentions. This is definitely a book I would recommend to readers who like their Historical Fiction with some thrills and spills and with an edge of mystery about it. Cleeland does a great job of flawlessly meshing all of these genres together to produce a very well rounded and entertaining novel. It does drag a little in the middle, but when the action picks back up readers will be glued to the final pages.