Pub. Date:
Dave Siebels with Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band

Dave Siebels with Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band

by Dave SiebelsDave Siebels


$14.95 $14.99 Save 0% Current price is $14.95, Original price is $14.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


Veteran organist, composer, and arranger Dave Siebels sounds like he is completely comfortable and at home as the guest with pianist Gordon Goodwin's acclaimed Big Phat Band. Contemporary funk, modern big-band charts, and a little bebop form the core of the band, as it plays a mix of standards, pop tunes, and seven originals penned by Siebels, including six arrangements by Goodwin, and two smaller-ensemble cuts. The music is fairly predictable, but well-revered soloists like guitarist Grant Geissman, tenor saxophonist Brian Scanlon, trombonist Andy Martin, alto saxophonist Eric Marienthal, and flutist Sal Lozano pop up and increase the band's creative quotient. Siebels himself prefers eighth notes when he jams or plays behind the big band as on three of his tunes, the sleek funk-to-bop opener "The Coupe," the Brecker Brothers-type skunk funk "Not That There's Anything Wrong with That," and the cool walking "Da Blues," where he plays more unison lines with the horn section. "Sort of Like a Samba" is actually Brazilian-based with a quintet only, while "The Eleventh Hour" is another typical funky number, with Goodwin switching to tenor sax for a solo. There is a credible version of Neal Hefti's classic cool organists' favorite "Girl Talk" (with Geissman) and a rousing, fun take of Lalo Schifrin's boogaloo groove tune "The Cat." Stevie Wonder's "I Wish" is a clever adaptation, especially in its complex introduction, as different key changes are strung together before going into the familiar straight funk tune everybody knows. The big band and small ensembles unfortunately lose momentum during "The Gospel According to Hammond" and "I Love You Even More Again," tunes that it is difficult to express much enthusiasm about. While Siebels is a competent organist, he's in the lower third of favorites. A trio date would be welcome to hear how he can effectively stretch out with a more bare-bones combo, so listeners can assess his true colors.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/12/2009
Label: Gold Label Records
UPC: 0786052811121
catalogNumber: 81112
Rank: 85659


  1. The Coupe
  2. Not That There's Anything Wrong with That
  3. Da Blues
  4. Girl Talk
  5. I Wish
  6. The Gospel According to Hammond
  7. I Love You Even More Again
  8. The Cat
  9. Sort of Like a Samba
  10. The Eleventh Hour

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Siebels   Primary Artist
Gordon Goodwin   Piano,Conductor,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist,Musician
Brad Dutz   Percussion
Bernie Dresel   Drums
Jeff Driskill   Tenor Saxophone
Grant Geissman   Guitar,Soloist,Musician
Sal Lozano   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soloist,Musician
Eric Marienthal   Alto Saxophone
Andy Martin   Trombone,Soloist,Musician
Charlie Morillas   Trombone
Dave Spurr   Drums,Musician
Craig Ware   Bass Trombone
Roy Wiegand   Trumpet,Musician
Brian Scanlon   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist,Musician
Ed "Edgardo" Smart   Tenor Saxophone,Musician
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet
Dan Savant   Trumpet
Jay Mason   Baritone Saxophone
Rick Shaw   Bass
Pete DeSiena   Trumpet
Alex Iles   Trombone
Daniel Fornero   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Lalo Schifrin   Composer
Pat Boone   Executive Producer
Gordon Goodwin   Arranger,Producer
Neal Hefti   Composer
Dave Siebels   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer

Customer Reviews