Daylight At Midnight

Daylight At Midnight

by Taylor Eigsti Taylor Eigsti


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


Taylor Eigsti's third recording for Concord emphasizes a pop vocal component as well as his excellent keyboard work. With Becca Stevens singing on five tracks, Eigsti seems to be targeting the youth market rather than emphasizing his formidable and proven talent to play contemporary instrumental jazz. Covers of tunes by Coldplay, Rufus Wainwright, Feist, Nick Drake, Imogen Heap, MuteMath, and Elliott Smith center the sound of this disc, all done with only a subtle flair for the dramatic. Stevens has a supple, understated voice that lends itself well to late-night excursions, suggesting gypsy tales told in trip-hop trim. The recording gets more delicate and somber as it goes along, but Eigsti does take a broader view in funky modal, spiritual, soulful, electronic, and folk-like styles early on. Coldplay's "Daylight" is delightful and fun, while a version of Drake's "Pink Moon" -- accented by the acoustic guitar of Julian Lage -- is sweet, while Stevens singing Heap's "Little Bird" could easily be deemed an adult contemporary radio hit. Eigsti's playing itself is both interesting and intriguing, while the exceptional drummer Eric Harland keeps the beat flowing and expanding through each track. It's not his best work -- that is to come for such a young player -- but Eigsti felt compelled to do this project based on his broad level of musical experience, and a taste beyond jazz.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/21/2010
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072321007
catalogNumber: 32100
Rank: 165030


  1. Daylight
  2. Magnolia
  3. The Art Teacher
  4. The Water
  5. Pink Moon
  6. Little Bird
  7. Secreto
  8. Chaos
  9. Between the Bars
  10. Speaking Song
  11. Midnight After Noon

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Taylor Eigsti   Primary Artist,Piano,Mellotron,fender rhodes
Julian Lage   Guitar
Eric Harland   Percussion,Drums
Harish Raghavan   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Becca Stevens   Ukulele,Vocals,Charango

Technical Credits

Federico Mompou   Composer
Nick Drake   Composer
James Farber   Engineer
Matt Pierson   Producer
Rufus Wainwright   Composer
Elliott Smith   Composer
Imogen Heap   Composer
Will Champion   Composer
Guy Berryman   Composer
Jonny Buckland   Composer
Taylor Eigsti   Composer,Executive Producer
Paul Meany   Composer
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Chris Martin   Composer
Becca Stevens   Composer
Albert J. Roman   Art Direction
Mary Ann Topper   Executive Producer
Meredith McCandless   Engineer

Customer Reviews