Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Dead Heat

Dead Heat

by Lisa Nowak

Paperback

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 26

Overview

Alex is a machine whisperer. He can diagnose a broken-down car with a touch. But he's trapped in a dead-end life, exploited by a father who'd sooner slap him upside the head than say good morning.

For two years Cole mentored Alex, providing a glimpse of kindness and hope. All that vanished with Cole's death. It's a broken comfort when he reappears in spirit form, but Alex is willing to take what he can get-until he learns Cole's efforts to protect him may have doomed his soul.

Caught in a deadly spin, Alex can't get traction until an ailing '59 Studebaker steers Jade into his life. With a love of the paranormal and the disarming ability to see the good in Alex, she assures him Cole can reach the Other Side-if Alex escapes his father. But a previous terrifying attempt has convinced him it's impossible. Can he drum up the courage to try, or will Cole be earthbound forever?

If you like gritty, compelling stories with true-to-life characters who make you cry and cheer, you'll love Lisa Nowak's Dead Heat. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, and Chris Crutcher.

Dead Heat was a 2014 Finalist in The Kindle Book Review's Best Kindle Book Awards.

This book is not part of the Full Throttle series. It contains darker subject matter that kids under the age of 14 may find disturbing.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781937167189
Publisher: Webfoot Publishing
Publication date: 11/23/2012
Pages: 212
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.48(d)
Age Range: 15 - 18 Years

About the Author

In addition to being a YA author, Lisa Nowak is a retired amateur stock car racer, an accomplished cat whisperer, and a professional smartass. She writes coming-of-age books about kids in hard luck situations who learn to appreciate their own value after finding mentors who love them for who they are. She enjoys dark chocolate and stout beer and constantly works toward employing wu wei in her life, all the while realizing that the struggle itself is an oxymoron.Lisa has no spare time, but if she did she'd use it to tend to her expansive perennial garden, watch medical dramas, take long walks after dark, and teach her cats to play poker. For those of you who might be wondering, she is not, and has never been, a diaper-wearing astronaut. She lives in Milwaukie, Oregon, with her husband, several feline companions, and two giant sequoias.

Customer Reviews