Dead Size

Dead Size

by Sawney Hatton

Paperback

$12.99

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Dead Size by Sawney Hatton

Reviewers are raving about DEAD SIZE: "This book was amazing!" "A thrilling and entertaining read" "What a refreshing blend of twisted fairy tale, surrealism, and wit" "The Second Coming of Christopher Moore" "You will have so much fun reading this"

This is no fairy tale.

Gulliver Huggens has issues--
He watched his family perish in a tragic car accident as a child.
He doesn't know how to win the heart of the girl at the coffee shop.
And he shares his home with a clan of mischievous tiny people.

Yet these all turn out to be the least of his troubles.

A secret race of Giants dwelling in the neighboring mountains wants Gulliver to exterminate all the Little People... or else.
When folks in his hometown begin brutally dying, Gulliver must make a hard choice. But choices have consequences.

And consequences, he'll learn, come in all terrible sizes.

With larger-than-life characters, edge-of-your-seat suspense, and a bit of quirky kinkiness, DEAD SIZE is a comical psychological fantasy mystery thriller for fans of Christopher Moore, Chuck Palahniuk, and Terry Gilliam.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780988644434
Publisher: Dark Park Publishing
Publication date: 07/30/2013
Pages: 310
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.65(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dead Size 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
KayleeeKS More than 1 year ago
This is a tough book for me to review, because I can’t really make the comparisons I want without spoiling the effect of the book. Let’s just say that it is clever and witty, and not at all what you might think. Even in the beginning, I thought perhaps this was more of a child’s fantasy story. Um, no. In fact, it takes a decidedly “adult” turn and the story has a real depth that I hadn’t expected. The author is clearly quite talented, and he paints the scenes perfectly and pulls you right into this odd world Gulliver lives in. I recommend this for almost any reader who enjoys a book that thinks outside the box and isn’t afraid to push the boundaries. A thrilling and entertaining read.
KMatthews More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! Definitely unlike anything I’ve ever read before. I read it in one night and was REALLY impressed with how polished and well-edited it was. I notice things like that. This book seemed like it was written by a pro, with great pacing throughout and twists and turns that kept me guessing up til the end. I really enjoyed how the psychological element played out, and it made me wonder what else was less that “accurate” from our unreliable narrator. A great, entertaining read that I’m glad I experienced. I feel like I won’t be forgetting this one anytime soon.
BellaReadz More than 1 year ago
Right off the bat Mr. Hatton sets the strange vibe of the book as the hero Gulliver (named after THE Gulliver, natch) wakes up bound and tied in his yard for the third time in as many weeks. But this is just the beginning as we follow Gulliver on his psychological travels (sorry, couldn’t resist) through the strange life he leads, complete with little people, giants, and, um, interesting fantasies that made me blush (in a good way!). What I liked most about this book was how it had many layers and nothing was really as it seemed. I wish the ending could have been more fully fleshed out, but it was amazing, nonetheless and really made me think of the overall book differently. In fact, it made me want to read it again! I’d recommend this one to my friends and family for sure.
SDecker More than 1 year ago
Okay, this book was awesome! I admit I was fluctuating between liking it, to being a bit confused, to thinking it might be “too” weird for me, back to totally digging it, but it was the ending that put me over the edge into “this was awesome” territory. I really didn’t see it coming, although I suspected something was up, I never felt like it was contrived or predictable. In fact, quite the opposite. This author is mad creative and can write! I look forward to reading more from him in the future (and I know I will!) Recommend for adults and fans of psychological/fantasy thrillers.
gaele More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this adult-themed story with the flavor of a fairy tale that mixes horror, dark humor, family history and even a smattering of violence.  These elements all work in concert, while none overpower or even feel gratuitous, they manage to incorporate the darkly humorous threads that tie this satire together.  Originally my interest was piqued with references to Christopher Moore, and while I found a similar approach from the point of view in the darkly drawn humor, the style is not derivative but wholly complimentary.   There are stereotypes that are so dead on, yet feel so guilty that they provide an instant moment of “aha” to the reader, the twists so ridiculously simple and presented in such a manner as to be wholly obvious while maintaining the surprise as the thought continues.  Yes, this is a book for adults, there is sex and violence presented with humor that is not appreciated or appropriate for younger readers: but those who cannot help but see the absurdity in life and its situations will appreciate the twist.  This is a funny, morbid, well-paced and crafted story that entertains and shocks in near equal proportions, leaving you to remember the joy in the reading.  I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a surprise this book was! Dead Size is one of those rare novels that comes along and floors me. Solid, very smart writing that combines fantasy, mystery, suspense and comedy into something fresh and fun. If you're looking for something original, entertaining and intelligent, you've found it. Awesome in most every way.