Dead West Omnibus

Dead West Omnibus

Paperback(Second Edition, Second edition)


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780990390930
Publisher: Ragnarok Publications
Publication date: 06/20/2014
Series: Dead West Series
Edition description: Second Edition, Second edition
Pages: 432
Product dimensions: 8.90(w) x 5.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

This series is written by the three-headed monster known as Tim Marquitz, J.M. Martin, and Kenny Soward. When they combine forces, this world is a better place…and with 110 percent more body hair.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dead West Omnibus 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
The-Constant-Reader More than 1 year ago
There are two stories in this collection and I can’t wait for the third. With the first story what I liked was the lead up to Liao and the animals becoming feral, which is something you don’t see a lot of in zombie stories. It’s always the humans first. Something that I noticed with the story itself was the pacing, the introductions of characters seemed a bit rushed and at times the dialogue was stereotypical of western attitudes and felt it detracted from the overall story and bogged it down. The second story I liked a lot better and found the pacing between action, conflict, and storyline well thought out and I see one voice in the style of writing rather than three. I was able to visualize the action scenes with great detail and was happy to see the prejudices and racial conflicts between some of the characters toned down a bit. The problem I had with the first story was it seemed over the top and unnecessary and in this story there was just enough and it didn't distract from the story line. Even Nina got a few choice words in with George which made me laugh and made him seem to (I dare say) respect her a bit more. In this story there is a lot going on; Nina starts to really embrace her abilities and tries to understand them rather than run from them, we meet some new people and we lose some people, there is a demon train that ferries the dead (which is super creepy to think about), and something that surprised me (and I don't know why it did) which was the dead are localized rather than a cause of some epidemic and Liao is just taking them over. It makes for an interesting idea and something I haven't read before. What I really liked was how these characters come together, to stand and fight and not give up when it seems that all hope or more importantly "faith" is lost. I can't wait to read the third story and find out what the Taiping Jing actually is and does.