Deadly Anniversaries: A Collection of Stories from Crime Fiction's Top Authors

Deadly Anniversaries: A Collection of Stories from Crime Fiction's Top Authors

Hardcover(Library Binding - Large Print)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


A Best Book of 2020 from Suspense Magazine

Deadly Anniversaries celebrates the 75th anniversary of the Mystery Writers of America with a collection of stories from some of the top names in crime fiction.

An anniversary can honor many things: a birth, a wedding and sometimes even a death. In Deadly Anniversaries, editors Marcia Muller and Bill Pronzini present new stories from some of the best contemporary authors to honor the diamond jubilee of the Mystery Writers of America, an organization founded on the principle that “Crime Doesn’t Pay—Enough.”

Each author puts their own unique spin on what it means to recognize a certain day or event each year. These nineteen stories travel across a wide range of historical and contemporary settings and remind readers of how broad the mystery writing tradition can be, encompassing detective tales, domestic intrigue, psychological suspense, black humor and thrilling action.

By the time this group of bestsellers and award-winners is through, none of us will ever look at anniversaries the same way again. Deadly Anniversaries is sure to shock, scare and delight mystery and suspense fans of all kinds, featuring the following contributors:

Sue Grafton

Laurie R. King

Lee Child

Margaret Maron

S.J. Rozan

Max Allan Collins

Wendy Hornsby

Jeffery Deaver

Bill Pronzini

Carolyn Hart

Peter Lovesey

Meg Gardiner

Marcia Muller

Julie Smith

William Kent Krueger

Peter Robinson

Naomi Hirahara

Doug Allyn

Alison Gaylin

Laura Lippman

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781432879143
Publisher: Gale, A Cengage Company
Publication date: 05/27/2020
Edition description: Large Print
Pages: 638
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)

About the Author

A former journalist, American author Marcia Muller is perhaps best known for her mystery series featuring San Francisco private detective Sharon McCone. She is the author of over 35 novels (three in collaboration with her husband, mystery author Bill Pronzini), as well as seven short story collections. She won the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America in 2005.

Table of Contents

Introduction 11

If You Want Something Done Right… Sue Grafton 15

Ten Years On Laurie R. King 41

Normal in Every Way Lee Child 75

The Replacement Margaret Maron 85

Chin Yong-Yun Sets the Date S. J. Rozan 101

Amazing Grace Max Allan Collins 121

Ten Years, Two Days, Six Hours Wendy Hornsby 137

The Anniversary Gift Jeffery Deaver 153

The Last Dive Bar Bill Pronzini 175

Case Open Carolyn Hart 189

The Bitter Truth Peter Lovesey 211

Unknown Caller Meg Gardiner 227

April 13 Marcia Muller 249

Whodat Heist Julie Smith 271

Blue Moon William Kent Krueger 293

Aqua Vita Peter Robinson 305

The Last Hibakusha Naomi Hirahara 327

30 and Out Doug Allyn 343

The Fixer Alison Gaylin Laura Lippman 369

About the Authors 393

Acknowledgment 399

Customer Reviews