Dean Brody

Dean Brody

by Dean Brody


$13.49 $13.99 Save 4% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Dean Brody

Canadian country singer Dean Brody sounds positively all-American on his self-titled 2009 debut. He has a dry, dusty sensibility that recalls Brad Paisley only without Paisley's ripping guitar and weakness for novelties. Which isn't to say Brody doesn't have a sense of humor: he serves up a clever pun on "Dirt Roads Scholar," marrying it to an insistent country-rock pulse that manages to feel simultaneously traditional and modern. Brody's strength is that he walks this line with a bit of grace, only occasionally straying toward anonymous crossover country-pop. The strident power ballad "Brothers" being the biggest offender in this regard, but the sweet, breezy "Lazy Days" shows that he can have a gentle touch, while "This Ain't the Same Town" shows that he can do a gritty honky tonk crawl with the best of them. And it's that ability to put a bit of dirt in his country, along with his lean, efficient songwriting (he writes six of the 11 songs here, co-writing three others), that makes Dean Brody a fresh, engaging debut.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2009
Label: Broken Bow
UPC: 0697487713723
catalogNumber: 7137
Rank: 13328

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dean Brody   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Rhonda Vincent   Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle,Mandolin
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Kenny Greenberg   Electric Guitar
B. James Lowry   Acoustic Guitar
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Bruce Watkins   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Glenn Worf   Bass,Bass Guitar
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Melodie Crittenden   Background Vocals
Scotty Sanders   Dobro
Jim "Moose" Brown   Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Jeff Middleton   Banjo
Phillip Moore   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
James J. Mitchell   Electric Guitar
Trey Keller   Mandolin

Technical Credits

Steve Bogard   Composer
Rick Giles   Composer
Kyle Lehning   Engineer
Neal Coty   Composer
Matt Rovey   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Luellyn Latocki   Art Direction
Jimmy Melton   Composer
Andy Baggett   Graphic Design
Dean Brody   Composer,Liner Notes
Ryan Fleener   Composer
Jim Collins   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews