Death and the Maiden

Death and the Maiden

by Frank Tallis
4.0 5

Paperback

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Death and the Maiden by Frank Tallis

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award–nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it’s perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.
 
Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she’s gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera’s imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna’s powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who’s loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.
 
PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS’S VIENNA THRILLERS
 
“[A] captivating historical series.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
“[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.”—The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight
 
“Chock-full of tantalizing elements.”—The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets
 
“Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.”—The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780812983340
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/02/2012
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 339,120
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.82(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Frank Tallis is a writer and clinical psychologist. He has written self-help manuals, non-fiction for the general reader, academic textbooks, more than thirty academic papers in international journals, and seven previous novels. Between 1999 and 2011 he received or was shortlisted for numerous awards, including the New London Writers Award, the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, the prix des letrices de Elle, and an Edgar. His critically acclaimed Liebermann series has been translated into fourteen languages and optioned for television.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death and the Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
The psychoanalyst Max Liebermann/detective Oskar Rheinhardt series continues in old Vienna with the discovery of a renowned opera singer dead, an apparent suicide. Except that the detective doesn’t like the way she is lying on a rug. It seems too neat. So he continues to look into the matter, and the autopsy confirms his suspicion: she was murdered. In the course of their investigations, Max (and the author) are given many opportunities to exhibit their interest in music, including visits to the Court Opera and close association with Director Gustav Mahler. More attention is paid to how Mahler conducts the orchestra and performers than to a couple of murders. But then, perhaps, it is of more interest than that of the demised characters. The time is prior to World War I, and the background of the closing days of the Hapsburg monarchy and the rise of anti-Semitism in Viennese politics is graphically portrayed. And, of course, Sigmund Freud and his theories (and jokes) make their usual appearance. And could it be: Can Max and Amelia finally get together? Read the novel and find out. Somehow, “Death and the Maiden” is not as satisfying as the preceding entries in the series. But it is still an interesting read, and it is recommended.
DJW67 More than 1 year ago
Frank Tallis elevates the mystery genre to riveting literature with complex characters, intricate plot, vivid historical background, deep insight into human character and relfection on the forces reshaping Europe at the turn of the 19th century Vienna. Highly recommended!
MexicoDan More than 1 year ago
But still well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thebookjunkie More than 1 year ago
Reavd the review which is why I purchased the book. It looks like the kind of book I will enjoy. I am reading 2 other books right now. This will be next.