Death at the Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes Mystery

Death at the Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes Mystery

by R. J. Koreto

Hardcover

$25.19 $27.99 Save 10% Current price is $25.19, Original price is $27.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Want it by Monday, November 19 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683313373
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication date: 11/07/2017
Sales rank: 374,599
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.30(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Like his heroine, Frances Ffolkes, R. J. Koreto is a graduate of Vassar College. He has spent most of his career as a financial journalist. He is a member of Mystery Writers of America, and his work has appeared in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. He lives in New York, NY. This is his third Lady Frances historical mystery following Death Among Rubies.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death at the Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes Mystery 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
IrregularReader More than 1 year ago
This is the third book in the Lady Frances Ffolkes series. Expect spoilers for the first two books in the review below! ________________________________________________________________________________ Lady Frances is still turning heads. Having returned to London after the events of the last book, she seeks a way to turn her experience solving mysteries into something of a detective role. Gossip having arrived before she did, Lady Frances soon finds herself helping an elderly dowager find her daughter, missing for over thirty years. Taking to the case with enthusiasm, Lady Frances and her loyal maid, June Mallow dive into the world of theatre, moving pictures, secret pacts, and mysterious stalkers. Determined to prove that she is capable of becoming a real-life “Lady Sherlock,” Lady Frances refuses to give up the hunt, even as her own safety is threatened. I love this series. R.J. Koreto, who also writes the Alice and the Assassin series, does a great female lead. Lady Frances is forward and clever, but her intellect is human, and does not ascend the remote and reptilian heights employed by a Sherlock Holmes. Lady Frances makes mistakes, and overlooks clues, but her tenacity and quick mind generally lead her aright. As a result, the character is very relatable. Rather than feeling like the protagonist is so far beyond you as to be a separate species all together, Lady Frances is like the clever friend you always like spending time with. June Mallow is also a lovely character. Where Lady Frances holds her strength in her boldness and willingness to write her own rulebook, Mallow finds her strength in quiet determination and an unflagging loyalty to those she loves. The relationship between both characters is the best kind of friendship, where each character’s strengths are offset by the other’s weaknesses, and vice versa. The two women may exasperate one another on occasion, but by and large they function much better together. Fans of female-fronted mystery series will love this book. Fans of Victoria Thompson and Deanna Raybourn should definitely add this book to their TBR lists! An advance copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
Still loving this series. I love the character of Lady Frances. And Mallow great, too. I now have to wait for the next book in the series. Keep them comin, Please!
JeanK More than 1 year ago
I would like to thank NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for providing a copy of this book in exchange for a review. Lady Frances Ffolkes is a most unconventional character in Edwardian England. She is a suffragist who studies martial arts and prefers to travel through the city by bicycle rather than carriage. She has been involved in several investigations and has now settled into the role of private detective. Just as Sherlock had Watson, Lady Frances has Mallow, her maid who assists her on her inquiries. In R.J. Koreto’s third installment in this series, Lady Frances is hired by Lady Torrence to find her daughter Louisa, who disappeared thirty years earlier. Louisa is traced to the Emerald Theater, where she changed her name to Helen. She was a beautiful addition to the Green Players and captured the hearts of four men at the theater. The four made an agreement to support whoever she chose, but when she chooses the theater’s accountant, one of them breaks the pact. With her husband murdered, Helen disappears. When Lady Frances begins asking questions at the Emerald, one of Helen’s former suitors is murdered and she finds herself being followed by a threatening figure. She is not one to give up and is determined to discover Louisa’s fate and put Lady Torrence’s mind at rest. Koreto uses illusion and misdirection to hide the identity of Lady Frances’ stalker and Helen’s fate. The investigation takes her behind the scenes at the theater and into a studio in the early days of motion pictures. Her discoveries are often surprising and she reveals her solution using stagecraft at the Emerald. Fans of Sherry Thomas’ Lady Sherlock series or Deanna Raybourn’s Veronica Speedwell series will find an irresistible character in Lady Frances Ffolkes.