Debussy: Songs, Vol. 4

Debussy: Songs, Vol. 4

by Lucy CroweLucy Crowe


$20.58 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.58, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


The fourth and final installment in a complete edition of Debussy songs might not seem to be a chartbuster, but that's just what this release by British soprano Lucy Crowe has become, and it deserves every bit of its success. In fact, you might even pick this one over the other three if you're looking to sample Crowe's approach: the program is exceptionally well put together, and it begins with Debussy's first published song, "Tragédie," of 1881. There are several other early songs, giving insight into the young Debussy's romantic life as well as hints of the musical language to come and some real experiments (you could sample the "Rondel chinois"). From there, the program proceeds to later music but is not strictly chronological: instead Crowe leads you onto a path of extremely quiet songs wherein Debussy challenges the soprano to reside in her upper register, and Crowe meets the challenges beautifully. The tension is remarkable, with just a single piano solo and a pair of songs to Debussy's own texts ("Nuits blanches," or "Sleepless Nights") with baritone Christopher Maltman to break it. The music broadens out with some later songs, ending with Debussy's swan song, "Noël des enfants qui n'ont plus de maisons," of 1915. The contributions of pianist Malcolm Martineau are substantial; he produces some truly eerie sounds in the quieter pieces. Highly recommended and often haunting.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/02/2018
Label: Hyperion Uk
UPC: 0034571280752
catalogNumber: 68075
Rank: 123620


  1. Noël des enfants qui n'ont plus de maison, for voice & piano, L. 139
  2. Beau soir ("Lorsque au soleil couchant les rivières sont roses"), song for voice & piano, L. 6
  3. Apparition ("La lune s'attristait"), song for voice & piano, L. 53
  4. Chanson espagnole ("Tra la la...nous venions voir le taureau"), song for 2 voices & piano, L. 42
  5. Coquetterie posthume ("Quand je mourrai, qu l'on me mette"), song for voice & piano, L. 39
  6. Flôts, palmes et sables ("Loin des yeux du monde"), song for voice & piano, L. 25
  7. Pantomime ("Pierrot qui n'a rien d'un Clitandre"), song for voice & piano, L. 31
  8. Clair de lune ("Votre âme est un paysage choisi"), song for voice & piano, L. 32
  9. Mandoline ("Les donneurs de sérénades"), song for voice & piano, L. 29
  10. En sourdine ("Calmes dans le demi-jour'), song for voice & piano, L. 28 (first version)
  11. Fantoches, song for voice & piano, L. 80/2 (second version)
  12. Nuits blanches ("Tout à l'heureses mains plus délicates"), songs for voice & piano, L. 94 (sketches)
  13. Séguidille ("Un jupon serré sur les hanches"), song for voice & piano, L. 14
  14. Les papillons, song for voice & piano
  15. Arabesque, for piano No. 2 in G major, L. 66/2
  16. La fille aux cheveux de lin ("Sur la luzerne en fleur"), song for voice & piano, L. 33
  17. Rondel chinois ("Sur le lac bordé d'azalée"), song for voice & piano, L. 17
  18. Rondeau ("Fut-il jamais douceur de coeur pareille"), song for voice & piano, L. 30
  19. Jane ("Je pâlis et tombe en langueur"), song for voice & piano, L. 19
  20. Tragédie ("Les petites fleurs n'ont pu vivre"), song for voice & piano, L. 18

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lucy Crowe   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews